How To Wreck Your Life

WreckYourLife

FOCUS ON….

Become great at being ungrateful
Compare what you have to people who have more
Pursue temporary possessions over eternal treasures
Resent God for where you are in life
Develop an attitude of entitlement

The above summarizes a sermon Pastor Keith preached a couple of months ago.
How does any of this apply to me?

BECOME GREAT AT BEING UNGRATEFUL
I’m confident I say please and thank you a lot. I try to give compliments to others. I’m working on curbing the whining and crabbiness. I should be thanking my Heavenly Father more frequently for my multitude of blessings. I need to recognize my burdens can become “blessings in disguise.”

COMPARE WHAT YOU HAVE TO PEOPLE WHO HAVE MORE
I’m not a shopper. I’m content with the basics. I recognize those with more have problems just like I do. Lysa Terkeurst states in her book, How to Be More than Just a Good Bible Study Girl, “Whenever I get an overly idyllic view of someone else’s circumstances I often remind myself out loud, I am not equipped to handle what they have — both good and bad.” She continues “Thank You, God, for only entrusting me with what I have and who I am.”

PURSUE TEMPORARY POSSESSIONS OVER ETERNAL TREASURES.
As mentioned at my brother’s memorial service, you can’t hook a U-Haul to your hearse. It’s amazing as I work on downsizing our household (predicted 2017 retirement – subject to change) how much stuff we didn’t need. You think you’re a smart shopper and you find duplicates of the oddest items. Nothing on this earth can rival the luxury of heaven. It’s all just stuff down here.

RESENT GOD FOR WHERE YOU ARE IN LIFE
I’ve had some issues with God…not necessarily for where I am in life, but for what I’ve experienced. My Tuesday night Bible study is helping me to resolve some past events. I recognize I made choices in my life that weren’t the smartest; I don’t blame God for those. He gives me free will and the brain to ponder decisions. Perhaps I should exercise it more. An attitude of gratitude should be my guiding force.

DEVELOP AN ATTITUDE OF ENTITLEMENT
Each of us is made in God’s image. Each of us is loved by God. Remember sharing is caring. “Mine, mine, it’s mine” makes sense when spoken by a two year old…not so much when practiced by an adult. I’ve read the only thing that can keep you safe is humility. 1 Peter 5:5 Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

2 thoughts on “How To Wreck Your Life

Leave a Reply

