Freedom Isn’t Free

parade I was bitten by the patriotic bug from a young age.

Give me a red, white and blue parade with flags waving any day. I used to collect Americana décor and loved when I could pull it out for Flag Day and for the Fourth of July. Last year I got my kids into the patriotic spirit with chalk drawings of fireworks on the driveway, stars on the grass and patriotic crafts.

I have a special place in my heart for those who serve our country in our military and defend our freedoms. The phrase “freedom isn’t free” is one that rings so true – our freedom in the United States is upheld by the men and women who selflessly serve in our military and keep us safe. Stories of soldiers defending our freedoms and returning home to their families will always make me tear up.

As we celebrate our country’s Independence Day, it strikes me that our freedoms of faith weren’t without a cost, either. Jesus laid down his life for us to cover our sinfulness and shame with his perfection. Now we life in freedom because of the price he paid. I turned to Scripture to be reminded of perspectives on freedom from our amazing God.

Galatians 5:1: “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

Psalm 119:45: “I will walk about in freedom,
for I have sought out your precepts.”

Isaiah 61:1: “The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
because the Lord has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners.”

Romans 8:20-21: “For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.”

2 Corinthians 3:16-18: “But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.”

As you meditate on the sacrifices that brought our freedom in our country today, also dwell on the freedom that we have been granted in Christ through his ultimate sacrifice.

In Christ’s freedom,

– Jen Clark

Leave a Reply

