Fried Noodles

Right now, I am spending my first of almost four weeks in Hong Kong on my fifth trip here.  There are three things that I love about Hong Kong:  the people, the beauty, and the fried noodles.  I love meeting the people here and learning how different and how much the same they are here literally on the other side of the world.  I love the beauty here in the enormous skyscrapers, looming mountains, and ever-changing skies.  And I love the fried noodles.  Yes, we have noodles back home.  Yes, they are likely cooked the same, flavored the same, and served the same, but they just taste so much better here in Hong Kong.

Do you have those things in your life?  Maybe it’s your mom’s chocolate chip cookies that you’ve made over and over with her recipe, but hers just taste so much better.  Maybe it’s your dad’s BBQ ribs or your grandma`s apple pie.  We are creatures of habit and memories and some things just are never the same out of the place where we grow to love them.  I find that often to be true of relationships with Christ as well.  People grow up learning and loving him, but when they move on to another church as a grown up, they just don’t feel the same. 

Hebrews 13:8 tells us that “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”  That applies also to here and there and everywhere.  Whatever comfort we find in Him, we can find no matter where or when we are – we just have to seek it.  That relationship may not feel exactly the same as it did in another place or another time, but that’s that nature of change.  God is the constant, not the ripple.

This trip may be my last to Hong Kong for some time or forever.  I’m savoring the noodles (and the people and the views) while I’m here because I know it may not feel the same.  But I know that my God is here with me always and forever, no matter what fried noodles I’m eating.  And that makes them taste just that much better.    

Savoring the flavor,

Dina Newsom

Leave a Reply

