God Cares

I keep thinking about that “Why pray” question I asked a couple of weeks ago. (See “Why Pray?“) In addition, I’ve been asking myself, “Is this something that God would have me pray about?”

But then I remember that God cares about every detail of my life–the big things and small things. With all of the billions of people in the world (see Kelly Haack’s blog, “One in Billions”), I just can’t fathom how He can do that. But I know from personal experience that He does. He knows me intimately. My Father knows my heart…better than I do! Here’s a little thing that happened not to me, (well at least not these particular circumstances), but to a loved one.

This week my daughter-in-ltarget_logo_1aw Michelle made a quick run to Target, bringing along the kids, ages 4 1/2 months and 2. About to leave the store, she discovered that she had somehow lost her keys. She retraced her steps, frantically looking everywhere. With Andrew out of town, she called several friends who had cars large enough to carry kids-with-carseats plus the person driving and their kids-with-carseats, but no one was home. Amidst crying children, she finally got a hold of her neighbor, (who has older children) who gladly drove to Target, brought them home to pick up the spare set of keys and drove them back to Target to retrieve the car.

That’s when she called me, frazzled as you might imagine. I said a simple prayer asking God to help her find the lost keys several times that day and maybe the next and then just trusted that they would show up. Two days later, Andrew arrived home. Leaving him to watch the kiddos, Michelle went to the store to search again. They were preparing to come and visit us for a week, and were leaving the next morning.  Sure would put her mind at ease to find the keys before they left. She returned home without the set of keys. It seemed hopeless. Then the phone rang. It was Target. Yes, a clerk had found the lost keys! In a shoebox! Seriously, what are the chances? It doesn’t matter, because I don’t believe in chances, or coincidences. I believe in God and His amazing love and His caring about every single situation–large or small–in every person’s life.

It didn’t rain on your wedding day? (Another recent prayer request for an outdoor wedding.) God cares.
You prayed for wisdom about your job situation? (Yep, prayed about that for a couple of people.) God cares.
You are in pain and in need of healing?  God cares.
Your relationship with your spouse is difficult right now? God cares.
You are going through a terrible situation with your teenage child? God cares.
You’ve lost your car keys? God cares.

Now then, let’s make this clear: God is not Santa Claus. He does not give us everything we want. Those of you who are parents know that would be a bad idea. But He still cares. He understands our wants and desires, and as we take the time to come into His presence and seek His face, He will provide so much help and wisdom, guidance and direction that our hearts will be overflowing with awe and thanksgiving. Besides, just like you begin to think like the people who are surrounding you, when you spend time with the Father, you become more and more like Him.

Eastern_Bluebird-27527-2Here are a few verses to bring to mind when you think that God doesn’t care about you.
Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Matthew 6:26

You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
, you, Lord, know it completely.

You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,too lofty for me to attain. Psalm 139:1-6

Still think God doesn’t care? These are only a few verses that came to my mind…God’s Word contains many more reports and stories of God’s faithfulness in His Word. Check it out. It’s true–He cares for YOU!

Rest in His care today. He’s got this, no matter what it is. He is faithful and He loves you more than anyone!

God bless you my friends,
Jeanne

P.S. In case you were wondering…the shoe box? She was trying on wedges. Decided not to buy. The clerk was rearranging the boxes, apparently. Thank you, Lord! To You belongs the glory and praise, even for lost-but-now-found keys.

2 thoughts on “God Cares

  1. This is a beautiful post, sometimes in my darkest days I have felt why bother to pray, in other cases I have actually prayed that there is a God. I think we have to remember the blessings and know that prayers unanswered are also blessings although it may not seem like it at the time.

    • Thank you so much betternotbroken. I agree! I think it’s my age, but as I look over the many years of my life it becomes easier and easier to see that the struggles that I’ve gone through have blessed me so much in the long run.
      God bless you!
      Jeanne

Leave a Reply

