Bruises

This past weekend was my daughter’s 2nd birthday party. My sweet baby girl has turned 2, and she’s still sweet, but she is also a very rambunctious and carefree child. This very active spirit of hers that she has, has also led to quite a few bumps and bruises over the past several months. The latest of these happened to occur this weekend, at her birthday party.

I was inside getting things ready for the party and talking to guests, while my sweet wild child played outside on our playset with grandma. Somehow she missed a step and fell off of the side of the playset. Grandma was there to catch her, but not before her face collided with the side of it.

It took a few minutes to get her calmed down enough to assess the damage. A busted up lip and a black eye and a few scrapes across her nose and cheek, but she was going to be fine. About 5 minutes later she was running around laughing and having the time of her life, as if what happened just moments earlier didn’t matter.

There’s something about a child’s spirit and the ability to bounce back from the things that hurt them. It’s quite amazing actually. A couple of days later and Ellie’s bruises are already beginning to fade.

And then I look at myself. When I stub my toe, I whine about it for hours afterwards and complain about how much it hurts for days following. I may even try to blame the fact that I stubbed my toe on someone else. It takes me longer to recover.

Taking it one step further, I look at my life. There are some things that have left minor bruises and are easy to heal and recover from. And there are other things that have happened to me that are harder to move on from. Hurts and things that have caused me a great deal of pain, and although I am through those situations, it’s hard for me to let go of the pain that they have caused me. Sometimes the pain of those situations makes the road difficult to see, and we need a childlike ability to recover from these situations in order to heal faster.

In Matthew 18, Jesus talks about becoming like children, so we can enter heaven. “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 18:3-4

So starting today, I am going to take a lesson from my daughter and watching her just bounce back from her bruises. I am going to give my hurts to God and let them go, and march forward, moving on toward heaven, with childlike faith.

With faith like a child,

Stacy

Leave a Reply

