Encouragement

 Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.

(1 Thessalonians 5:11 ESV)

In Paul’s first letter to the church in Thessalonica, he urges them to encourage each other in their walks with the Lord. In chapter 5 he is specifically asking them to encourage one another to remind each other who they are, children of the day, and point one another to Christ.

I have to think about what it would be like to be a church that received a letter from Paul, and how encouraging that would be! I mean, can you imagine the excitement stirred within the church? Can you feel the spark it probably ignited at times, and the call to higher places?

I love that Paul not only commands us to encourage one another, but does so with being encouraging. This was their fellowship; face-to-face interaction was not as accessible in these days obviously.

I can’t imagine not being able to connect with the people who point me towards Christ. The women on our women’s ministries team in particular always leave me feeling extremely encouraged in Christ. I mean I am practically in tears most times I leave a meeting because they’re such a blessing. Listening to their hearts, seeing how God works through them, it causes me such joy to serve with these women.

I have to mention one of the most encouraging women I know, Doneta. I was having such a trying week last week, and in the mail I received the most encouraging card from her and it touched my heart so much. It encouraged me. And in the exact moment I needed it; it’s like she knew ;). I feel like Doneta’s “thing” is encouragement, she is so great at it. (Thank you Doneta!!)

 

I pray that this “thing,” this encouragement, would be our “thing” as a body.

 

Hoping you ladies have a lovey, encouraging week!

 

Rachel Mauirne

One thought on “Encouragement

Leave a Reply

