The Secret Time of Prayer

Last week was a lot of fun for me. I was able to go with one of my daughters and some dear friends to the Desperation Conference at in Colorado Springs. I have been a few times, and it is always so good. It refreshes me and gives me God’s perspective. It allows me to leave my daily tasks and agendas in Omaha. It gives my opportunity to practice selfies. (See below.) And each time I have attended it has been different.

selfie

This year, the conference theme was Jesus Reigns. Listen to the promo and the Desperation Band’s new release by the same name and get a flavor of the excitement and focus – Jesus!

Of the many things to walk away with from this conference, here are a few that stuck out to me.

1. Corporate gatherings are great, but some things can only be found alone with God.
2. The most strategic thing you can do is to separate yourself to the inner room – plan your life in the secret time of prayer.

We are familiar with many stories in scripture where the people of God withdrew from the world and got direction from God. But sometimes it is the lesser characters that really stick out.

In reading Genesis 24, I was struck by the obedience and prayers of a servant of Abraham. He withdrew to get guidance from God, not only for himself, but for blessing for his master. If you recall, Abraham was advanced in years. He wanted his son Isaac to have a wife from his people, not the Canaanites, so he had his servant take an oath and go Aram Haharaim.

Listen to this servant’s prayer and he prepares to accomplish his assignment.

“O Lord, God of my master Abraham, give me success today, and show kindness to my master Abraham. See, I am standing beside this spring and the daughters of the townspeople are coming out to draw water. May it be that when I say to a girl, ‘Please let down your jar that I may have a drink,’ and she says, ‘Drink, and I’ll water your camels too – let her be the one you have chosen for your servant Isaac. By this I will know that you have shown kindness to my master.”

It seems to me this is such an unselfish prayer. The servant understood he needed God’s direction and that he couldn’t do this on his own. He needed God’s strategy and guidance. And he was bold enough to be specific – asking that the very words spoken by Isaac’s future wife would be a clear answer from God. And God was faithful; Rebekah’s words perfectly mimicked the servant’s request.

This servant planned his day in the secret time of prayer. He requested success for himself, but he asked for blessing for his master. He was specific in his request, and God honored that. What a great game plan for us, to share our hearts with God, ask for blessing and favor for our employers and others, and to request His clear guidance for our choices.

Our Jesus is reigning!

Shelli Muldoon

Leave a Reply

