Have You Started a Grocery List?

grocerylist

Those words sound familiar? My husband reminds me we need yogurt. I check for the basics: bread, milk, eggs. Get the ads out and see what’s on sale. A certain grocery store will match prices, so I save competitor’s ads to get the best deal. I do my comparison shopping. If I’m smart, I’ve got the weekly menu planned and I can shop accordingly.

A prayer list is similar to a grocery list. It’s filled with needs and wants. We don’t comparison shop though. Our prayers are directed to the One True God. He has no competition. He’ll answer prayers accordingly. (Jeremiah 29:11) “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” He surely wants to hear our prayers (1 Thessalonians 5:17) “ Pray without ceasing.”

Recently I emailed the church secretary with a request for the prayer list. A friend is undergoing treatment for health issues. After the request had been posted in the bulletin, I got a phone call. My friend calls and first thing she says was that I was such a blessing. Her niece and nephew go to our church and they sent her a copy of the prayer list. Other friends read the request and sent her a card. She was so pleased knowing others care.

prayerlist

Prayer is simply communicating with God. Neither “churchy” words nor flowery phrases are required. As preschoolers are told, “use YOUR words.” Speak from the heart. Remember communication requires listening. As Henry Winkler (aka The Fonz) says, listening is the beginning and the end. I can chitter chatter my sox off to God, but I need to remember to exhale, pause and listen for a response. My prayer litany frequently is loaded with requests. I need to express more thanks for my many blessings. Each prayer of gratitude will be directed to the One whose son paid the price for me and others. We may live in a broken world, but as written in John 9:3 “this happened, so that the works of God might be displayed.”

I’m one of those works of God; I was created in His image. Jesus is thee light of the world.
But I most certainly am one of His light bulbs….maybe an aging, dimming one…but still one
who can shine my own light on the world.

Now I wake me up to live
I’ll give life all I have to give.
If today I face a test,
I’ll cope and pray and do my best.
With each breath and step I take,
be with me, Lord, for heaven’s sake. Amen.

In His Grip,

Rest In Peace: Marius Kathryn Philips, 97, of Albion, Nebraska
My husband’s aunt
My favorite in-law
Loved that lady

Jeanie Shank

Leave a Reply

