God’s Best

why worryMy ideas of what’s best for my life and God’s ideas are often two separate things. I’m betting you can relate. The word “curve ball” comes to mind. Ever been there? You think life is finally getting back to some semblance of normal, and then another surprise hits you. For me, it’s more surgery of a totally different kind than what was expected. I am already aware of certain procedures that will be upcoming, like hip replacement. But this? Didn’t see it coming at all. And I have to admit, it’s a bit scary.

Then I have to remember, it’s not about me. This life–my life, I mean. It’s about letting God use me in the way He knows is best. My first thought after the doctor recommended this surgery was, “Okay, well, whatever Lord. This is Your deal and I’m not going to worry about it.” And that night I only woke up once thinking about the unknowns.

The next day, however, was a different story as I shared with friends and received some advice that caused me to question and doubt and wonder and worry. (Let me be clear that I also got some really great advice from friends, too.) It was a good day, though, as the Lord ministered to me through random songs on K-Love that I’ve heard time and time again. I didn’t actually really care for one of the songs, but this time; THIS TIME, the Lord used the words of that song to encourage me and remind me that He is there in the midst of this bump-in-the-road.

That evening a friend prayed with me and shared Psalm 91, a favorite of mine.
He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.
He will deliver you…
He will
cover you with his pinions…”
(I spent time with a prayer group on Wednesday, and God reminded me about His pinions and how I can find refuge under the shelter of His wings.)
“You will not fear the terror of the night…nor the arrow…nor the pestilence…nor the destruction…”
“For HE WILL COMMAND HIS ANGELS CONCERNING YOU…”
Wow! Really? I sensed the angels in my bedroom that very night, and have been at peace ever since.

Today, God continues to remind me of His love and faithfulness, this time through an email from a friend from LAMP who writes, “This is a prayer that I often pray at night; it helps me keep a true perspective on things.” For me, through the difficult week I’ve had, this prayer reminds me that ultimately it’s not my will, but God’s that I want done in my life.

We would not be by care oppressed, but in your love and wisdom rest. Give what You see to be best.”

Ultimately, that’s what I want, no matter what. God’s best. Whether I can understand it or not. Whether I agree with it or not. I pray that you, too, would desire God’s best for your life. Then rest. Rest is His love and wisdom, and don’t be oppressed by the care.

God bless you, my friends!

Jeanne

Leave a Reply

