Setting An Example

This week I have the joy of leading students at a summer camp in Ogden Iowa. My beautiful daughter, Paige is stepping in and has written a blog for you today. Blessings on your week

Hi everyone my name is Paige and I will be a sophomore at Papillion La Vista South High School in a week!

I’d like to tell you a little bit about my faith in Jesus Christ. I have always gone to church since I was a little girl.  My parents made sure we got up each week and set us an example of what we should do.  I got my first real Bible when I was in 2nd grade.  Finally, on October 27, 2012, I got confirmed!  That was a special time for me because my faith in God really started taking off.  And here we are now!

This summer I have had the privilege of being a nanny to two amazing little girls, Isabelle and Ella.  I had such an awesome summer with those two!  My last day with them was Friday, August 1.  During the summer we played games, swam, and I took them to a week of Vacation Bible School at our church in June.  I was told that Isabelle and Ella hadn’t really been to church before and didn’t  have a faith in God so the experience was going to be new to them.  The Friday before it started, I was explaining to them what Vacation Bible School was and what they could expect to see and hear. They had so many questions!  One question stood out to me in particular.  Ella asked me, “Hey at VBS, do they give you bibles?  Because I’ve always wanted one! ”

I decided after this moment that I was going to do everything I could to tell these girls about Jesus.

girls

The first day of VBS was very enjoyable for both Isabelle and Ella.  But there was still one thing they were missing.  A Bible.

Then day two comes.  As we walked in the doorway on the second day, we saw Jim Haack greeting us.  If you don’t know Jim, he is a staff member at Beautiful Savior, a Director of Christian Education.  Something that Jim helps out with each year is a presentation to Bibles to kids that are in the second grade.  I mentioned to Jim how I was a nanny to Isabelle and Ella for the summer and that it was their first year attending Vacation Bible School.  My mom then proceeded to tell Jim about how the girls wanted to have their own Bibles.

After three short hours, Jim came up to me with not one, but TWO Bibles in hand for the girls.  The Bibles were a gift from Jim; I thanked him for his generosity and thoughtfulness!   I gave Isabelle and Ella their new Bibles and they hugged them tight.  As soon as we got home, they wanted to write their names in them!  They started reading from the beginning, when all of a sudden one of the girls asked me, “What was the Bible verse that we learned today?”  They wanted to look it up!  I then taught them how to look up a Bible verse and explained what the numbers meant.  For the remainder of the week, Isabelle and Ella wanted to look up the verses that they learned each day and they made it their goal to read the bible every day.  I know they have placed their Bibles on a shelf by their beds, allowing both of them to read them frequently.

I remember Jim telling me when he gave me Isabelle and Ella’s Bibles that I was starting a great ministry.  I thought to myself, “Is this a ministry?  Am I actually doing something that could change their lives?”  I now know what he said is true.  I believe I have changed Isabelle and Ella’s lives through the Word of God.  I also believe by setting an example for Isabelle and Ella to follow, they will want to follow Christ.   Just because you are young, doesn’t mean you can’t make a difference.   Just because Isabelle and Ella are young, doesn’t mean they can’t change the world.

Imagine what other kids my age could do by taking that leap of faith and setting an example for others to follow!

One bible verse to leave you with today

1 Timothy 4:12

”Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.”

Setting an example through Christ,

Paige Oswald

 

Leave a Reply

