A New Year’s Resolution

back to school

Time to make a New Year’s resolution.

Having lived for more than four decades as either a student, a teacher, or the parent of a student, my yearly cycle runs not from January 1 to December 31, but from the first day of school to the last day of summer vacation. That means Monday begins a New Year as school starts up again for my younger son.
I have always loved the beginning of the school year with its fresh packages of paper and newly sharpened pencils (or in this era tablets and computers). I have to say I am a little disappointed this year. I offered to take Christian school shopping but, alas, not only at 17 does he like to do his own shopping, he also announced he really has no shopping to do. He wears school uniforms which he plans to recycle from last year and he needs only a little paper as he intends to take notes on his computer. In addition, I finished my Master’s degree in May so I have no need of school shopping for myself. When Christian and his girlfriend announced they were going to the mall and one of her goals was to get herself a pencil organizer, I had to bite my tongue to keep from blurting out, “Just a moment. I’ll get my purse.” I love all those cute school doodads!

More than shopping and doodads, I love the beginning of the school year because it promises new beginnings, new possibilities, and new learnings. This is a great time of the year to make a New Year’s resolution. While I might not be learning in the classroom this year, I can learn, and this year I am resolving to focus my learning on Romans 12:2: “Do not be conformed by this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

I, therefore, resolve this school year to renew my mind in Christ. How do I plan to do this? Through more time learning God’s word. Through worship and praise. Through time with my small group. Through meditation and prayer. I love school, and I plan to continue my education by growing in my relation to Christ. I cannot wait to see where the Holy Spirit will take me this year!
Now I think I will go school shopping for a new bookmark for my Bible.

Blessings and hugs,

Kelly Haack

2 thoughts on “A New Year’s Resolution

Leave a Reply

