Horizontal Living

Comedian and humorist Bill Cosby was once asked about the secret to success and I loved his reply. “I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everyone.”  Oh so true.

success concept

This world of ours is in constant search for success; success often defined by everyone else. We seek the best education, employment, life style; follow trends to mimic the current look. In summary we seek approval and if we fall short we are disappointed and feel empty.

We look everywhere to assure ourselves about our decisions. Is this the right job; the right person in my future; the right plan? We include everyone’s opinion, except the only one who should matter. Jesus reminded us when He spoke those words, “Mary has chosen the one thing needful.”

When I look for an answer do I go to God’s instruction manual? I was placed on this earth to give glory to God; praise His name and spread His love and forgiveness. When I do everything for the value and opinion of others I fall woefully short. It’s what Charles Swindoll expressed in his book Wisdom for the Way: “To put it bluntly, life on planet Earth without God is the pits…there is no hell on earth like horizontal living without God.” When I focus on reaching out for other’s approval instead of reaching upward for my Father’s hand I will never be satisfied.

My contentment is found when I let God fill me with His strength and guidance. Ps 32:8 reminds me, “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go.” No amount of working to get ahead, trying to push beyond, valuing only the critical view of the world’s definition will produce what I lack; the peace in being still and emulating Micah 6:8, “And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”

There is the secret of success, letting go and letting God have His way.

Blessings as you serve. Doneta

Leave a Reply

