Orphan

I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. John 14:18 ESV
I have never fully known what it feels like to be without parents or a parent. But in my heart, when I think of the orphan, my heart breaks over the one who has no covering, completely exposed and vulnerable. No protection. No one to pull them close when they are frightened or tired, or upset.
These descriptions are in no way the full extent of the misfortune of an orphan. But they are the things I think about when I hold the sweet babies I nanny in my arms. You see, the darling diva, miss Clara, and mister curious Cooper and I have been spending the whole summer together; something that would have never been possible if their parents hadn’t adopted them. It’s enough to make me sick to imagine just for a second where these babies would be if Karen and Joe were not in the picture.
I have been blessed with the opportunity to come in to their lives and gotten to share beautiful memories, and learn so much from all of them. I have gotten to watch them go from trying to convince them to roll over to crawling all over the place (no really, all over the place) to almost (gasp) walking!! I have gotten to see them eat their first foods. I have gotten to watch them change and grow. I even got to be there when their adoption was finalized.
My favorite thing that Karen and Joe expressed at the finalization (their “got-ya day”) was that they knew these babies were made to be in their family. And I got to thinking how true that really was. It wasn’t just something they were saying to sound good to the judge. They didn’t say it because they were “supposed to.” I have seen first hand that this sentence came from the most genuine depths of their hearts.
I cannot imagine Cooper and Clara anywhere but where they are. It takes me realizing that they physically look different from their parents for me to remember that they actually were adopted.
So then, brothers, we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him. Romans 8:12-17 ESV
We are different than God (duh, Rachel) we look different, we are foreign, we are separated from him. Thank God he has adopted us. Thank God he looks at us and says we were made to be a part of his family. We are not orphans; even the orphans don’t have to be orphans. He is or comforter when we are upset; he is our healer when we are hurt; he is our resting place when we are tired, weary. He is our Abba, Father. Something I knew- but to have a tangible example of that relationship play out before makes it sink in my heart in a new way.
This family I have fallen in love with move to Georgia in a few short weeks so it probably goes without saying, but I am pretty much devastated! I do thank God for the time he has given me with them, the relationship we have built which I know will only grow from here, and the beautiful picture of his love for us through them!

May my experience bleed in to your heart and may you feel Abba’s great love in his desire for you to be with him in his family.

Thank you for reading,
Rachel Maurine

One thought on “Orphan

Leave a Reply

