Which Direction?

As my family was heading to vacation a few weeks ago, there were times we weren’t exactly sure which direction to take on the rural highways in western Nebraska. Do we jog off in this direction to get to our destination? We weren’t quite sure as the signs didn’t seem very clear.

Ever find yourself in a situation where the signs don’t seem as clear as you’d like for your next steps or next venture in life?

I am finding myself personally at that kind of crossroThis Way or That Way?ads. Am I to stay on this specific path? Do I try this new winding trail? Where will it lead?

It seems there are many more questions than answers at this point, and I am not sure what to do. An easy answer would be to “trust my gut” or go with what the world might say is the right path. But that’s a dangerous road to follow.

This pause is uncomfortable for me; I like to be in control and know my goal and exactly how I’m going to get there. But things are uncertain and tentative, and being out of control is unwelcome.

For too long I didn’t turn it over to God – why I didn’t do this earlier, I’m not sure.  In turning to Him, I didn’t immediately get a lightning bolt from heaven that told me which path to take. But I did receive peace in the seeking with the nudge that I need to keep seeking him to find out where He wants me to go.

It’s interesting – the first direction to go must always be towards God.
Only then can we begin to seek clarity about our earthly direction.

I’ve been trying to do a few things now to get myself back on the path towards God, and ultimately towards His final destination for me.

  • Take it to God in prayer. This is so simple but something I so often forget to do immediately! Instead, I get frustrated by circumstances, or lack of clarity or confusion. Instead of that, what if I turned to a conversation with my Father as my first instinct?
  • Dig into his Word – what does God desire for all of His followers? Focus on the Family had an interesting post on seeking God’s path, and the thought that first you have to meditate on what He wants for all of us. Micah 6:8 has a good reminder: “He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?” Humility, justice and kindness are great ways to take the focus off my own struggle and center on others as God would have me do. Maybe in that path, the urgency and struggle become less important in light of what has heavenly importance.
  • Meditate and pray – what does God desire for me? James 1:5 says that if we lack wisdom, we need to ask God who gives generously to us. That Godly wisdom can guide us as we continue to meditate on His Word and pray to Him. And then God may help provide better clarity as Proverbs 4:18 says: “The path of the righteous is like the morning sun, shining ever brighter till the full light of day.”

With Him in the seeking,

– Jen Clark

 

Leave a Reply

