Fruit of silence

Two words. Christian and cheese. Don’t even ask how they ended up in a Google search. Just suffice it to say they did, and I ended at this website.

It was not at all what I expected. There was nothing overtly spiritual about their products. And it was not a complete loss; this company’s cheese products do look tasty and I think I will order some in the future.

Prior to the Google search, I did look in the concordance of my Bible. I found no verses regarding cheese. Were there verses mentioning milk, even butter? Yes, take a look at Proverbs 30:33.

“For as churning the milk produces butter, and as twisting the nose produces blood, so stirring up anger produces strife.”

This is great advice for avoiding strife, but no mention of cheese.

I am sure you are wondering “why cheese?” Okay, I am ‘fessing up. I asked my daughter for a writing prompt, and with a little grin she gave me the word ‘cheese’, followed by “I know you can do it mom”. Which loosely translates into, “you can’t do it mom”.

I have now incorporated ‘cheese’ into my blog and I can move on.

2 Timothy 3:16-17 tells us that “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

Maybe my approach to getting to Proverbs 30:33 was light-hearted, but the Word is always useful. Like many proverbs, the pictures that come to mind are vivid. Especially strong is the twisted nose image. Stirring up anger produces strife.

It seems like we can see that everywhere in the world right now. Anger is stirred up in Omaha, in St. Louis, in the Ukraine, in the Mideast, and even in our homes. Strife follows.

But we are called to peace.

Look at these verses which highlight this mighty, mandated calling.

1 Timothy 2:8
I desire then that in every place the men should pray, lifting holy hands without anger or quarreling…

Hebrews 12:14
Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.

Matthew 5:9
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

Mother Teresa is quoted as saying, “The fruit of silence is prayer; the fruit of prayer is faith; the fruit of faith is love; the fruit of love is service; the fruit of service is peace.”

God’s blessings to you as you allow silence, and all of its fruit, into your day.

Shelli

Leave a Reply

