Little Blessings

I apologize this blog was not posted earlier. Last night I scheduled it to be posted at 12 am today but must have hit a wrong button because it never posted.

Wht-God-Has-Done-

Sometimes I have to thank God that my big toe doesn’t hurt or that hair doesn’t have nerve cells. I have fibromyalgia. To be diagnosed with it one has to have pain in all four quadrants of their body. There are days when I hurt “all over” that I go systematically through my body parts and thank God for those parts that don’t hurt.

I have been blessed in that over the past number of months I have felt relatively well. Until recently. In the past couple weeks I have had a flair in my right jaw joint. It hurts all the time and even eating softer foods such as bread or a banana on the opposite side of my mouth is almost unbearable. I can barely brush my teeth near that jaw joint because of the pain. The pain has been radiating to other parts of my body such as my neck shoulder, and ear, and I have had a constant headache. I did not realize until this pain began what a blessing it is to be able physically eat without intense pain.

This has made me wonder. What other blessings am I missing in my daily life? Little things are such a blessing. I can flip a switch and there is light. Thank you Lord! I can flush my toilet and the mess and smell disappears. Praise Jesus! My hands work well enough to cuddle my dog. What a blessing! I can feel the softness of a rug under my toes, give a hug to my husband and boys, and hear my parents’ voices over the phone because my body parts work. Right now I am blessed to hear my dishwasher working, and even if that did not work I could wash the dishes by hand. As I write this I am sitting on a couch. Some people in this world do not have a couch. I am blessed.

I have to admit, at times I have felt sorry for myself because of the chronic pain. Yet I am learning that even in difficult circumstances the key to contentment is gratitude and there is always something for which to be thankful. There are many things in life that make it wonderful.

Still, even without ears to hear, hands to hug, feet to walk, I would be blessed. Among those myriad of little blessings, I have one big blessing: Jesus Christ. Even on my worst pain days, I can look forward to being free of pain in eternity because Jesus died that I might live. Sometimes that keeps me going.

I am reminded of the apostle Paul’s words in Philippians 4:11-13:

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

Yes, with a heart of gratitude for the blessings God has given me, even in pain I can be content. I am blessed.

May you too be blessed,

Kelly Haack

 

 

Leave a Reply

