Another One Bites the Dust

It was inevitable. Saturday night laundry time with a set of queen-sized sheets in my washer, when the unit died. Great I think. Just what I want to have happen at 10:00 PM. Wringing out a set of sheets gives you a lot of time to think about your options, while alternately thinking, “Doesn’t anything last anymore?”  But while reviewing the history of my washer, I had to admit that eight years before a repair man predicted it could last a few months or a few years; and God graced me with a good deal of time.

Washing Clothes

Cut ahead to 11:50 PM and I’m on line searching, comparing, and having “sticker shock”. You see, two cycles on my dryer were also not functional, so my thought was, “Doneta be sensible. You might as well replace both units at the same time, but when you haven’t looked at washers or dryers for 22 years you say to yourself, “At these prices the appliances should come with steering wheels so I can drive them.”

A phone call and conversations with others confirmed what I had already decided. I didn’t need something supersized with a display panel looking like it belonged in an airplane. I needed the basics; sturdy, simple with not a lot of bells and whistles. And I found it. I am happy. It could be delivered, installed and my old units (such as they were) would be removed.

My new appliances while nice and functional will not last 22 years; maybe 10 or so – planned obsolescence – the catch word of today’s society. The last years through broken water pipes, leaky water heaters and hail storms, replaced roofs have taught me that things break down, wear out and simply do not last.

That may be the state of the world and most things made by human hands, but thankfully my God does not fit that description. These words leap into my mind: Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever. Hebrews 13:8. What comfort! What reassurance! And even on those gray days, when I realize that much in this world seems pointless, the words of Jeremiah 29:11 remind me, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Yes, my God is the Alpha and the Omega. He is lasting in fact He is life itself. My time here is temporary. My destination is home in heaven, where my Savior waits with the same words he spoke to his disciples, “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matt. 28:20. Now that’s not just a promise. That is His word and my guarantee. Always!

“Father, thank you that no matter what – I have you as my guide and my strength. Thank you for your love that continually gives and never wears out! Amen

Blessings on your journey. Doneta

One thought on “Another One Bites the Dust

  1. Doneta – what a fabulous reminder of the guarantee we have with Christ Jesus!

    And I feel sympathy – we were looking at dryers and I know the sticker shock! 🙂

Leave a Reply

