Oh, be careful

O be careful little mouth what you say
O be careful little mouth what you say
There’s a Father up above
And He’s looking down in love
So, be careful little mouth what you say

Those lyrics come from the child’s Bible song, “O Be Careful, Little Eyes”.

As a child, I don’t think I fully understood the message from the song. That is, I believed that when I spoke something unpleasant to God’s ears, he was disappointed, and maybe even saddened by me. Somehow I missed the part “He’s looking down in love.” I didn’t understand how those ill-spoken words from my mouth caused me pain. I didn’t understand that the command for my obedience in speech was given because of God’s love.

Today, it is the love part that strikes me. Maybe because I hurt for those I love when I hear them unknowingly speak hurtful things out. And I am sure I am guilty of doing the same, unknowingly, without thinking, when I also speak or agree with lies about who I am.

God has made it clear in His word to speak out the truth (Zechariah 8:16). He tells us that life and death are in the power of the tongue (Proverbs 18:21). And in Genesis, He gives us the examples of how He spoke creation into being.

And yet we easily fall into the enemy’s trap, not only believing lies about us and future generations, but speaking them out. “Our family is…” “Our downfall is…” “We fall to…”

But that is not what God says.

Gary Wilkerson put’s it like this in his devotion “Have you been set free?”

“The truth is, if you have already met Jesus Christ, if you have been washed by the blood of the Lamb and cleansed by His precious blood, you have been made free in Him. You are victorious and a new creation in Christ Jesus.”

‘Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold the new has come. All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself’ (2 Corinthians 5:17-18, ESV).”

Speaking out the truth… I am working on this. And I am grateful for all that my Father up above has done for me through the sacrifice of His son.

Shelli

Leave a Reply

