Our Story

Our church has just started the nine month process of going through The Story.  Each week we are reading and learning from a different chapter.  If you are unfamiliar with The Story, it is basically the Bible written like a novel, a chronological chapter book.  I have always been a reader, and so I love a good story.  I think this is an amazing way to work through God’s word, and I am very excited for my entire family to take this journey together.

This has gotten me thinking about writing stories, and then more so about this blog.  I am amazed at how often topics on here speak directly to something I am going through at the same time that another daughter of God is writing about it.  I am in awe of the inspiration these women find in simple tasks and daily situations.  Often I am surprised by the inspiration the Lord gives me when I’m searching for a topic or the right words to use.  It’s special to think that on any given week, God is using one of these women to speak to another of his children in the struggle they are going through, or the joys they are celebrating.

This blog is read by more people than I would expect, in more countries than I would imagine.  And it started with a few women wanting to share their stories.  Stories that are sometimes simple and seemingly mundane.  Stories that show the entire spectrum of emotions on any given day.  Stories that show just how interwoven our lives are and just how much God cares for each one of us.  Amazing stories.  Moving stories.  Our stories.

Psalm 102:18 says “Let this be written for a future generation, that a people not yet created may praise the Lord.”  I am honored to be a part of this way of sharing stories.  And I only hope that at least one other person feels that my stories speak to them the way that I feel when I read entries here.

Sharing my story,

Dina Newsom

Leave a Reply

