Food for Thought, A Phrase to Remember

This is a re-visit of an earlier blog. My father loved the song “I Can Only Imagine” by MercyMe. He has been with Jesus now for two years, and his is no longer imagining, he knows. The phrase ‘food for thought’ still makes me smile every time, and in honor of my dad, here is a blog inspired by him.
“Food for thought.”

That is how my father started many conversations. When I heard those words, I automatically braced for unsolicited advice. Once in awhile it was benign advice that didn’t ruffle my then young-adult feathers, but often I would cringe a bit as I heard input that I didn’t believe I needed to hear.

Here are some examples.

“Food for thought, you should start heading back to college before the snow starts.”
“Food for thought, have you thought about changing the oil in your car?”
“Food for thought. You might want to remove that corn kernel from your [toddler] son’s nose.”
“Food for thought. You might want to encourage your [teenage] son to remove that corn kernel from his nose.”

So the expression now brings a smile to my face. As a mother of three adult children, I have a much greater appreciation of the phrase – and of my dad. My advice recipients are not as excited to hear my wisdom as they used to be, and so using the expression to gain leeway to share makes sense.

I have also been delighted in some pieces of wisdom – or food for thought – that God has brought to me lately.

Take a look at some of these quotes:

God did not direct His call to Isaiah – Isaiah overheard God saying, ‘…who will go for Us?’ The call of God is not just for a select few but for everyone. Whether I hear God’s call or not depends on the condition of my ears, and exactly what I hear depends upon my spiritual attitude.”  Oswald Chambers [Read about Isaiah’s commissioning in Isaiah 6.]

The place God calls you is where your deep gladness and the world’s hunger meet.”  Frederick Buechner

When humans forsake their Maker and love other things more, they become like the things they love—small, insignificant, weightless, inconsequential, and God diminishing.” John Piper

When I process life through my feelings, I am left deceived and disillusioned. When I process life through God’s truth, I am divinely comforted by His love and made confident in His calling on my life.” Lysa TerKeurst

Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom.” James, brother of Jesus

Just some food for thought.

Shelli Muldoon

Leave a Reply

