Lemme take a selfie

“But first, lemme take a selfie.”  These words have become a running joke in pop culture in recent months.  I have two teenage daughters, so am more than familiar with the ‘selfie’ concept.  In fact, I have learned the fine art of which angles, which filters, and which lighting are best and worst for selfie taking.  I have also learned that the best selfies are one of ten or more pictures taken at the same time and then searched through for perfection to post.  It has become an art form.

I saw a television commercial today that made fun of selfies, and it got me thinking about the concept of the selfie.  So often in today’s culture we are encouraged to be self-centered, self-focused, and even selfish.  There are growing worlds of thought focusing on ‘me first’ and ‘letting others worry about themselves’ that many people struggle with.  I wondered what the concept of my selfie as a Christian would look like.  If I were to snap a picture at any given moment of my life from the outside, would I like it?  Would I post that?  Would God like what He sees?

I have all the bad days that make for shabby selfies.  Bags-under-the-eyes-days.  Feeling-bloated-days.  I-hate-my-smile-days.  Has-my-nose-always-been-that-big-days.  Does-my-hair-really-look-like-that-days.  But I also have those days as a follower of Christ.  Did-I-really-just-say-that-days.  Why-can’t-I-forgive-that-person-days.  How-far-can-I-bend-my-conscience-days.  It’s-just-a-little-white-lie-days.  I’ll-stop-doing-that-tomorrow-days.  If I were to take a snapshot of myself in one of those moments, would I like what I would see?  The answer is no, but I still find myself in those places again and again.

We read in 1 Samuel 16:7, “But the Lord said to Samuel, ‘Do not consider his appearance or his height for I have rejected him.  The Lord does not look at the things people look at.  People look at the outward appearance but the Lord looks at the heart.’”  When I am feeling not good enough, or stuck in a rut, this is the verse I turn to and remember that God doesn’t look at my extra pounds or the pimple growing on my nose or even my little white lies or gossipy tales.  He sees my heart; he sees the best of me; and because of Jesus’ death on Calvary, He sees it in the best light, with the perfect filter, flawless hair, and an amazing smile.  He looks at my heart through the filter of Jesus on the cross.  I can’t take a better picture than that.

#bestselfieever

Dina Newsom

One thought on “Lemme take a selfie

Leave a Reply

