Sweet Similarities

The last few weeks have been full of milestones. My youngest daughter transferred to a new college. My middle daughter married a wonderful man and we now have a dear son-in-law. And just this week, our oldest and his wife welcomed their first born – and I am now a grandmother.

The passage of time, life changes, births and deaths, all give us time to ponder. And yet, I have to think of the old adage, “The more things change, the more they stay the same.” This became glaringly clear as I was looking at photos of my son after his birth. We start out pretty wrinkly as newborns. By the time we are new parents, those wrinkles are gone. Now at my grandma age, the wrinkles seem to appear again. Sweet similarities.

Okay, maybe some things have changed a bit. For fun I was reading through some memories my mother has written down about her childhood. There are stories for which I have no context.

For example, my grandma delivered five children at home. There were no epidurals, no IVs, and no gift bags for new parents! In fact, women of that time stayed in bed several weeks after they gave birth. My grandparents chose to have their children baptized within a couple of weeks after their births, so that meant my grandma Emma, still in bed, missed their baptisms.

Other words and phrases from Mom’s notes make me laugh, things like “in the barn milking cows”, “horse tank” and “no electricity”. And I can proudly say I have never had to pull out one of my children by their feet to get their heads unstuck from a big cream can.

While her notes are good, my favorite is just to hear her tell about her parents, their faith, and witness. She becomes a bit animated and her love for them is visible. One story my mother tells is about my grandmother telling her (my mother) about God’s faithfulness. My grandmother explained to her that when she was a child, she needed to go down a long lane to pick up mail from the mailbox. It was going to storm and she was anxious. She prayed to Jesus to hold off the rain, and she was able to walk the long distance and back without a drop. Once inside the house it started pouring. That incident impacted my grandma and helped her to realize the Lord was with her. That incident left an impression on her daughter, and I am now typing the same story. Her prayer life and faith impacts me.

Those are sweet similarities we can work toward.

Psalm 145:4 ESV

One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts.

Proverbs 4:10-27 ESV

Hear, my son, and accept my words, that the years of your life may be many. I have taught you the way of wisdom; I have led you in the paths of uprightness. When you walk, your step will not be hampered, and if you run, you will not stumble. Keep hold of instruction; do not let go; guard her, for she is your life. Do not enter the path of the wicked, and do not walk in the way of the evil.

Psalm 100:5 ESV

For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.

Luke 1:50 ESV

And his mercy is for those who fear him from generation to generation.

Leave a Reply

