i <3 books

BlogOct2014-1I love books. More importantly, I love reading. I have been known, even at my age, to hide under the covers with a book light (or my lighted Kindle) and read well into the night. Recently. I especially love being transported away, letting my over-active imagination picture people, places, things. I’m convinced the version in my mind’s eye is much better than the big screen could ever portray.

All of this to say, I just finished reading the latest release from one of my favorite authors: Jan Karon, who writes about the town of Mitford (an imaginary small town in the North Carolina mountains). The main character of Karon’s Mitford series is Father Tim Kavanagh, an Episcopal priest who married late in life.

Without disclosing the plot of her latest book, Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good, let me just tell you what I love about Father Tim:

*I love that he prays about so many things that go on in his life and his community.
*I love how God brings him into situations so that he can share the Father’s love.
*I love how he trusts God, and sometimes he doesn’t, yet he still shows so much faith.
*I love his expression “Buddy-Roe” and find myself calling the cats this.
*I love that he and his wife often pray liturgical prayers at certain times of the day (like before they go to bed). They seem so comforting. I may even look some of them up and put them into practice in my own life.
*I love how he prays “the prayer that never fails,”¹ when it seems impossible to pray.

Sometimes I have to remind myself that this is “just a book.” But I do love how Karon’s series is not necessarily “Christian,” it’s not for believers only, it just chronicles the day-to-day activities of a man who just happens to love the Lord and desires to serve Him whole-heartedly.

I love how God can even take a book–a fictional one, at that–about an Episcopalian priest–and use it to remind me of His amazing, never-ending love, care, and concern for me, and His plan for my life.

You know, God uses so much more that we can ever imagine to influence our lives and help us to be more like Him. I love that about Him! How has God spoken to you this week? Whom (or what) has He spoken through?

God bless your weekend, my friends!

Jeanne

Here’s a few quotes from Jan Karon’s Mitford Series books:

“I can’t say I have any confidence in confidence. I have confidence that God is with us in all things, both tender and tough.”
Jan Karon, Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good


“Well, I’m going to church. But I’ve got to tell you that it’s full of hypocrites.

My friend, if you keep your eyes on Christians, you will be disappointed every day of your life. Your hope is to keep your eyes on Christ.”
Jan Karon, At Home in Mitford


“Father, make me a blessing to someone today, through Christ our Lord. Amen.”
Jan Karon, At Home in Mitford


“Easter is never deserved.”
Jan Karon, Home to Holly Springs


 ¹Thy will be done

3 thoughts on “i <3 books

Leave a Reply

