I’m Parched Lord…

Water; I don’t especially drink a lot of it. Now coffee on the other hand is one of my basic food groups. I’m getting better with water; trying to improve, but honestly I have to force myself to drink it. And that can be a big problem. You see the human body is between 50-65% water. That was in our Creator’s master design and when I don’t take in the necessary amount, complications arise.

Water Glass

Maybe you haven’t give a lot of thought about water; maybe you are one of those people who is consistent and passionate about keeping your body hydrated, but by definition: Dehydration occurs when you use or lose more fluid than you take in, and your body doesn’t have enough water and other fluids to carry out its normal functions. If you don’t replace lost fluids, you will get dehydrated and if you don’t replace it, your system literally dries out. Resulting symptoms are the obvious thirst, but also:
• Sleepiness or tiredness — children are likely to be less active than usual
• Few or no tears when crying
• Dry skin
• Headache
• Dizziness or lightheadedness
In the case of children and infants it can be life-threatening.

So that’s physical thirst, but what does my spiritual thirst look like? What are the risk factors, the complications, how do I prevent it? If I can go to a well, the water cooler, a faucet, my water bottle for a drink, where do I go when my heart and soul dries out? What keeps my spirit hydrated? What a parallel we have between the two! Sometimes dehydration occurs for simple reasons: You don’t drink enough because you’re sick or busy, or because you lack access to safe drinking water when you’re traveling, hiking or camping, but cramps, exhaustion, heat stroke, seizures, kidney failure, coma, death – all can result. The prevention is: extra water.

Water within the bible has always been a source of both life (creation) and power (Red Sea, The Flood). Jesus gives us that just as he offered to the Samaritan woman in John 4: 10-11 “Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”

So how can I offer the feeble excuse, “I’m just too busy God; just don’t have the time; maybe later Lord”? Sooooooo when I complain, when nothing seems to be working out, when my schedule is crazy-out-of-control, when life has me way behind, over my head, or just plain lost, when I make the wrong choices – they are all symptoms that I haven’t replenished my soul. And the answer?

Jesus is my source! He hydrates me in my conversations with Him, in Holy Communion, in my bible reading and my devotions, in my fellowship with my Christian family! That truly is what my Savior gives to me each and every day! So what’s my excuse? Nothing. Absolutely nothing!

Are you feeling tired, lethargic, dried out? Reach for the living water and never be thirsty again.

Lord, forgive our excuses, our myopic vision. Let us focus on your life giving water – let us drink you in. Amen
Doneta Doehling

Leave a Reply

