L.E.D.s light the way

This week, one of my co-workers and I went for a walk along a trail at the retreat center in northern Wisconsin where our staff was meeting. It was a beautiful night. Unexpectedly, we happened upon a Halloween trail. It seemed strange that a Lutheran retreat center would have a scary trail, bLED Flashlightut they did, complete with creepy-looking monsters and strips of white sheeting dripping in red paint. As I said, it was dark, but I had my trusty L.E.D. flashlight with me. We walked and talked for quite a while, eventually returning to our cabin.

Arriving near our destination, we suddenly heard a terrible, ghoulish scream coming from the side of the cabin, followed by someone running towards us. My reaction to this unexpected, frightening experience was to flash my trusty L.E.D. light in the person’s face. My friend had an entirely different reaction. Didn’t know she could scream that loudly. Or kick that hard. You guessed it. It was one of our co-workers, not knowing we had just taken the creepy path through “Halloween Haven.” This friend of ours (yes, still a friend), tried to scare the bejeebees out of us. (And succeeded, at least one of us! It must’ve been that creepy trail.) I wondered at the fact that I was able to remain calm when I should have been shaking with fright.

Oh, if only I could respond this way to the devil when he attempts to scare the bejeebees out of me. If only I could react calmly instead of “going to pieces.” Immediately, my mind goes to “worse case scenario.” No hope. No answer. No God. Where’d He go?

Then I remember, God is always there. What I need to do, and God help me, is shine the light–the Light of Christ–in the enemy’s face, just like I shone my trusty L.E.D. flashlight into my co-workers eyes.

Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” John 8:12

When I do this, suddenly the thing that is looming so large in front of me seems to shrink. The fear dissipates. When I declare the promises found in God’s Word, I can take my stand against the devil’s schemes. I can be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power (Ephesians 6).  And no matter what, I will not walk in darkness, but have the Light of life! (John 8:12)

I pray that you will grab your trusty L.E.D. flashlight, your “light-emitting-Jesus-device,” the Word of God, and shine it with all of your might by the power of the Holy Spirit when you encounter the enemy’s darkness and experience great fear. May God grant this in Jesus’ name!

God bless you till next time,

Jeanne

2 thoughts on “L.E.D.s light the way

Leave a Reply

