Money, Money

“How much better it is to get wisdom than gold! And to get understanding is to be chosen above silver. Proverbs 16:16

money

Approaching the year end I can be overwhelmed at times. Budget, finances and giving invade my brain. So I asked God to quiet my heart and give me the right perspective. He did exactly that with my morning devotion from Charles Swindoll. Please allow me to share:

Foolish indeed is the person who considers himself safe and sound because he has money…

And another reason it’s foolish to trust in riches for security is that money, in the final analysis, bring no lasting satisfaction, certainly not in the area of things that really matter. There are many things that no amount of money can buy. Think of it this way:

  • Money can buy medicine, but not health.
  • Money can buy a house, but not a home.
  • Money can buy companionship, but not friends.
  • Money can buy food, but not an appetite.
  • Money can buy a bed, but not sleep.
  • Money can buy the good life, but not eternal life.

It is God (alone) who is able to supply us “with all things to enjoy.” As Seneca, the Roman statesman once said: “Money has never yet made anyone rich.”

From Strengthening Your Grip – Charles Swindoll

Lord, when I lose my focus and worry, forgive me. Turn my eyes to you and my lips to thanks and praise. Amen.

I will proclaim the name of the Lord. Oh, praise the greatness of our God! Deut. 32:3

Blessings to you. Doneta

Leave a Reply

