Things You Maybe Shouldn’t Always Think Abut During Communion…

Have you ever gone through the communion line and drawn a total blank as to where you were sitting on the way back? Is it not the worst feeling ever? One second you are taking part in the holy sacrament, thank Jesus and remembering what he has done for you and the next you’re on the verge of a panic attack… Where is my row? Why did I go first? Who was sitting in front of me during worship? I knew I should have kept my eyes open…
This happened to someone at church a few weeks back, and I saw the whole thing happen. At first I felt so bad, like I wanted to do something but I was completely helpless. This couple caught my eye when they sat down at the end of our row because they were so dang adorable. When the woman, we will call her Melba, found herself in this awful predicament I saw the fear in her eyes… oh no what have I done.. this is NOT where I was supposed to go. I looked over at her husband, we will call him Frank, and He is just calmly standing there (I am of course freaking out). Melba is looking around. Frank is still staring there, staying calm this whole time (because he knows exactly where she is and that she has no reason to fear… do you see where I am going with this?) He calls out Melba’s name. Very softly… so full of love. And once Melba herd her husband’s voice she knew she was in the clear. Once she made it back to her spot I made sure to lean over and tell her it happens to all of us…

And then of course, cause it wouldn’t be church if I didn’t cry a little, I cried… because what a beautiful picture of God’s unwavering love for us. He sees us, even when we find ourselves outside where we are supposed to be. We may be (probably are) freaking out, but God is calm, because he knows that you’re really not that far away from him. He calls us back by name, and he welcomes us in and comforts us 🙂 I think my favorite part watching Melba and Frank so joyful to be reunited (could I make this more dramatic? Don’t worry there was actually dramatic music playing… because, communion…) It makes me think about how joyful it is to be in the arms of the Lord.

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

(Romans 8:38-39 ESV)

-Rachel Maurine

2 thoughts on “Things You Maybe Shouldn’t Always Think Abut During Communion…

  1. hahaha, love this. It’s poignant, but I also love that it doesn’t take a huge episode to make you cry at church. I was talking about this phenomenon with a girlfriend- how hard it is to leave church without crying. My husband always looks over and I can see the fear in his eyes “oh no! what did I do?! What happened” when the tears start rolling. I would love to one day respond “that lady couldn’t find her seat” before dissolving into tears again. That would teach him;)

Leave a Reply

