“God” Things Jar

This week, Igood things jar came across a blurb on Facebook about a “Good Things Jar.” Such a simple idea–you find a jar you like, add a little stack of paper and a pen or pencil. When something good happens, you write it down and place your note in the jar. On December 31st, empty the jar and read the notes to see what good things happened that year. You can even get the whole family involved!

Several folks commented on this entry. One person said, “My jar would be almost empty, nothing good ever happens.” 😦  Another mentioned, “Mine would be full because God is always so good to me.” I suggested that we call it the “God Things Jar,” because I believe that every good thing comes from God.

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” James 1:17

You know, I think it might be helpful to look through the notes when things aren’t going so great; you know, those “rainy” days? Just think how uplifting those little slips of paper would be, reminding you of God’s goodness and His favor.

“Amazing sunset today.” “I basked in the warm summer sun.” “The bluebirds have returned!” “The doctor’s report came back–no cancer!” “I’m gonna be a grandma!” Whew! That really puts my bad day in perspective!

As you read through the notes found in the jar, remembering again Who is the giver of all good things, your heart feels thankful. Even if words are not spoken, God knows all things and hears as if you prayed aloud.

“Forgive and act; deal with everyone according to all they do, since you know their hearts (for you alone know every human heart)…” 1 Kings 8:39

jarsWant to give it a try? January 1st will be here soon! Here are the simple directions:

  1. Find a jar or container you like. Feel free to decorate it. Many people use a Mason blue Ball jar, which you can find on Etsy or Ebay, but don’t make it complicated!
  2. Get some paper scraps. Looking for some special little colored notepads? Amazon.com
  3. Keep a pen or pencil in or near the jar.
  4. Write down a “good thing”or two every day, and place the note in the jar. You can also put ticket stubs or a small object that will remind you of your good thing in the jar if you like.
  5. Be sure to look through all of your “God things” on New Year’s Eve!

Will you pray with me?
God, thank you for all of the good things you do for me. I am so blessed. Thank you most of all for the gift of your precious Son, Jesus, whose birth we will be celebrating soon. Help me to be thankful every day, whether or not I write the good things down. I’m so glad you know my heart. Show me Your heart, too. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

God bless you, my friends!

Jeanne

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““God” Things Jar

Leave a Reply

