Back to English class

conversations

Let’s go back in time. Put your thinking cap on and recall your high school English classes. I’m sure you remember the lecture highlighting that a short story contains five key elements: characters, conflict, plot, setting and theme.

Beautiful Savior is studying the book, The Story, by Randy Frazee and Max Lucado. The authors’ intent is to condense the Bible into 31 chapters. As we contemplate the questions in the back of the book, The Flat Out Fun Life Group which I belong to has had some thought provoking discussions.

The Bible is filled with multiple settings, conflicts, plots and characters. John 3:16 “ For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” is perhaps the most well-known theme within the book. You may recognize others. There’s a reason the Bible is called “the greatest story ever told.”

Which Bible story first tugged at your heart? I always loved hearing about David and Goliath (go underdog!). I cannot imagine being any of the females an angel visited to announce an impending pregnancy. Daniel in the lions’ den always made me afraid. Jonah in the whale made my stomach turn (and think what it was like for him!) I would give anything to have been a bystander listening to Jesus talking to the woman at the well. I will always wonder about Eve giving birth to thee first baby. Would Jesus have asked me to dance with Him if I was at the wedding where He changed water into wine?

I remember my first week working the line at the high school cafeteria. The assistant manager went out of her way to point out that our day’s work was just a job; it was something we did and wasn’t who we were. Wise words from a 20+ something.

So just who am I? Who are you? What are the key elements of your story here on earth? At any given time elements may overlap or one may dominate. Maybe one in some shape or form lingers forever. You are the main character in your story.

Is God your leading man?

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

One thought on “Back to English class

Leave a Reply

