Happy Thanksgiving!

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 ESV)

Happy Thanksgiving! I almost forgot Thanksgiving was this week, but let’s be honest…. I pretty much forget most things. J Something else I forget? How to be thankful in all circumstances. Yes, today I can sit here and rattle off a list of blessings and gifts and say thank you to God. But, today I feel challenged to find gratitude in things I’m inclined to have a bad attitude about. Challenge accepted Lord. Here is my short list:

  • A mountain of homework that has taken up residence between d any hope of a social life and myself. (I am learning and that is a blessing. Bonus: my friends will have a smart friend if they keep me ;))
  • A work environment where I am not specifically encouraged in my walk with Christ. (I get an opportunity to be humbled often, to sharpen my skills of love and also my skills of resisting certain things.)
  • Every stupid mistake I have made this year. (God, thank you for showing me that even when I fall apart, you never see it as an opportunity to run away from me. Thank you for teaching me hard lessons, and for giving me hope that you will continue to use even the crappiest of my choices for good…)

I pray that true gratitude for these and all of the other things I tend to foolishly grumble about would sink deep in to my heart. Today, everyday. I pray we would rejoice even at the things that seem to bind our joy because we have hope in the thing that we can be sure to be the most grateful for- full payment of our sins on the cross of Christ. Eternity in heaven, and a life on Earth filled with hope.

e66e3c3f6d5c3587f538bf1febdaf99b Praying many blessings for you on this beautiful holiday season!

Happy Thanksgiving,

Rachel Maurine

Leave a Reply

