May I Help You?

download

The job of school receptionist requires multi-tasking. If you live in the school community and if you have had/have children in the District (or perhaps in the building where you work), you’ve got an advantage. You probably know more about the daily school routine and may recognize family names and staff members. If your children were saints (or sinners), you may have had chats with administrators. You’ve also been exposed to the educational philosophy within the building and District. I don’t have that blessing. My children did not go to school where I work and I don’t reside in the community. And any familiarity wouldn’t have helped recently anyway.

A young lady came to the front window and asked me to give some house keys to a student. OK. Write down the student’s name on a piece of paper and we’ll take care of that at the end of the school day. Well, she didn’t know how to pronounce the student’s last name and couldn’t spell it. Uh…duh? And I’m supposed to get a message to a student whose name I can’t pronounce and a spelling I can’t trust when referring to the master schedule. Well, I may be a Jeanie but I’m no wizard.

After three attempts at paging the student using the guessed pronunciation, I was willing to accept failure. The student never did show up for the keys that day.

I am SO glad my Heavenly Father knows my name. He knows everything; He’s omniscient.

Isaiah 43:1 (NIV)
43 But now, this is what the LORD says—
he who created you, Jacob,
he who formed you, Israel:
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

images

John 10:3 (NIV)
3 The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.

Exodus 33:17-23 (NIV)
17 And the LORD said to Moses, “I will do the very thing you have asked, because I am pleased with you and I know you by name.”
In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

Leave a Reply

