Christmas- what’s in a carol?

It’s the time of year when I get excited for Christmasfor a number of reasons– one of the main ones being the music. A Christmas carol can bring us back to a memory. One of those songs for me is: “It’s beginning to look a  lot like Christmas” Usually this time of year you can certainly say that– based on the songs next line (‘take a look at the five and ten, glistening once again with its beginning to look a lot like Christmascandy canes and silver lanes aglow’). For this Midwestern girl, “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas” is more my Christmas style. I can’t seem to quite wrap my mind around the Holidays sans snow. I know it’s coming, but it just doesn’t quite seem right to prepare for Christmas on a day that’s rainy and 58 degrees.

There are signs of Christmas preparations everywhere you look , whether at a local retailer, on the commercial breaks on TV, or (most annoyingly) my email inbox- which lists hundreds on “hurry up” & “best deals end tonight”  sorts of messages to encourage me to spend my time and money at their store or website-NOW.

All of this frenzy to celebrate just perfectly. To celebrate like the “Joneses”. To buy the perfect gift.

The pressure is on.

Yes, I can certainly drive myself crazy trying to do everything the way I feel I am supposed to- or the way in which the media portrays we ought.

Or I can try to think and act differently. Take a look at what Jesus says here Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.  John 14:27

Christmas is about the coming of Jesus, not the giving of material possessions. Christmas is about true peace, not piecing together a great gift. Christmas is about Christ, not about anything the world can offer.

This Christmas how about offering true peace to another? How about searching your heart and allowing what God has already done for you to be the reason for your celebration this season?  How about sharing that through not only your words, but also through your actions?

Thank you, Jesus for coming to earth as a true man. For humbling yoursel

hark the herald angels sing

f and for living a perfect life here on earth.  May we with the Angels, sing about your glory. May we look to you, Jesus to teach us about love and in love to redeem our souls.

The true Peace of Christmas is yours in Jesus, the baby, the Lord. Here’s a classic Christmas carol to meditate on this truth, or just to join the praise– “Hark the Herald Angels sing

 

Christmas Blessings!

Stacey

P.S. Please feel free to share your ideas of how you are  intentionally speaking and acting out the peace of Jesus, rather than living out what the world declares  this Christmas.

Leave a Reply

