Sing to Jesus

I surDec2014-3e don’t want to be a Debby Downer, but Christmas Eve for me (except for worship) was not the best. Nothing major, just extra stress, tension, sickness, loneliness and a bit of depression. Arriving at the 5 p.m. worship service, I sat alone, feeling sorry for myself.  I mulled over my day, my feelings, my response to my feelings, and then as worship began, I put all of that aside and turned my heart towards Jesus, My Savior.

It was during this time that I began to wonder what God would have me do differently. I wanted to do something special for Him. But what? Feeling bad for my bad feelings and rethinking my behavior certainly wasn’t honoring to Him. Releasing it all to God, I began to ask what I could do on this special night for Him. Immediately what came to mind were the times when I have sung lullabies to my little grandchildren– Johanna, Eames, Ben and Lily. Following the tradition of how I sang my own children to sleep, I began with “Jesus Loves Me,” followed by “Away in a Manger,” and then other lullabies or hymns as they come to mind.

As Christmas Eve worship continued, I felt so blessed to be able to lift my voice to Jesus and join with all the other people there, as we sang the familiar carols. The thought came that maybe God also would be blessed if I sang songs to Him before I went to bed, just like I do when I put the little babies to sleep. So I did. Acapella, I just lifted my voice to the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. I do admit, I looked online for some of the words to my favorite Christmas carols, but it was just a wonderful time of worship as I was moved by the carols to remember once again the amazing birth of Jesus.

Perhaps like me, you had moments of feeling down around the Christmas holidays, or even after. Maybe you could ask the Lord what He would have you do for Him. It may not be singing, but perhaps you could offer something else that would bring honor to God, like dancing, reading and pondering His Word, listening to worship music, praying, or just spending a few minutes focusing on His love for you.

He does love you, you know. More than you can even imagine. I pray that each of you who is reading this blog today knows how much of a blessing you are to your heavenly Father, and that you take just a moment to bless Him in return. Not because He expects it, but because He deserves it. What a wonderful God we have!

Thank you, dear Jesus, for coming to earth for me and all who call you Savior and Lord. Help me to honor you not just on your birthday, but every day. In Your Name I pray. Amen.

God bless you and keep you!

Jeanne

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sing to Jesus

Leave a Reply

