I Will Carry You

il_fullxfull.160333225

 

 

 

 

 

 

I recently heard a song that has touched my heart in a way I never expected it to.  Titled “Footprints in the Sand”, the song was released in 2007 by Leona Lewis.  I had never heard of it until my son’s show choir performed it this past fall.

I love the following lyrics:

“You walked with me
Footprints in the sand
And helped me understand
Where I’m going

You walked with me
When I was all alone
With so much unknown
Along the way

Then I heard you say

I promise you
I’m always there
When your heart is filled with sorrow and despair
I’ll carry you
When you need a friend
You’ll find my footprints in the sand”

When I first heard my son’s show choir perform this song as their ballad, I happened to be sitting next to a dear friend who loves show choir just as much as I do.  I watched her intently listen, take some photographs and then I saw the tears well up her eyes.

When my son left the stage after his performance, he actually walked past me to hug her first because he was so excited to see her there!

The next day, still reminiscing from the inspiring song I heard the night before, I received a disturbing phone call.  My friend, who had attended the show choir performance with me less than 24 hours before, had attempted to take her own life.  As I drove to the hospital in fear, and later sat in the waiting room with her family, I longed for the moment I could see her.

As her family led me into her room, I asked for a few moments alone.  I slowly pulled my chair close to her bedside, watching the numbers on the machines go up and down, hearing the rhythm of her pulse.  I reached and held her hand.  As she stared into my eyes, tears began to form – in hers, in mine.  I managed to speak the first words on my mind and told her how much I loved her.  I prayed with her and we cried many tears.  I began to hold her, and hugged her tighter, so much so that the alarms on the machines began to sound.  The hugging and holding increased her heartbeat and pulse higher and higher.

After I left the hospital that day, I remember thinking how amazing it is that when we don’t think God is there, He’s still carrying us.  When we think He’s disappeared, He is walking right beside us.  When we don’t think we can go on anymore, He is holding us in His arms, chest to chest, heartbeat to heartbeat.

God has reminded me time and time again of how He has carried me during my struggles and that I am to be His light and help carry others.

To my friend:  We love you tremendously.  I thank God daily for you.  We will always be there, when you need a friend.

Thankful for another new year with you, enjoy the song below.

Carey Oswald

 

4 thoughts on “I Will Carry You

  1. What a beautiful reminder that sometimes the only way people may see the light of Christ’s love is through us. Thank you for reaching out and sharing support when it was most needed.

  2. Reblogged this on Beautiful Savior, Beautiful Women and commented:

    On Mother’s Day, I had the opportunity to watch the young woman that I wrote this blog about graduate from High School. I didn’t get to give her a hug, but I want her to know how much she means to me and how very proud we are of her. This is one of my favorite and most emotional blogs I have written. Please enjoy again.

Leave a Reply

