My Very Own Hallmark Moment

hallmark

I gotta hand it to Pastor Keith. During the sermon series “Upside Down Christmas”
he suggested writing notes of appreciation for loved ones. My husband thought we should do this for each of our children. Now to be honest, I wasn’t extremely focused when Pastor Keith was pitching this idea. I never thought I’d do anything like that. So I had to email him and get the details for our task.

While composing my list, I did what I used to tell my kids not to do. I anticipated the responses. I put words in their mouths. I wondered how they’d each react: in a negative fashion with the ever popular eye roll or maybe (fingers crossed) with a smile and a thank you. I prayed they wouldn’t compare letters. These were tailor written with each particular child in mind.

On Christmas Day the envelopes with our words were waiting in the stockings. Yup, kids are now in their 20’s but still have stockings. After presents under the tree are opened, the stockings are checked. Our daughter opened her envelope and began tearing up. She says I can’t read this; I’ll start bawling. Our oldest hesitantly shared he’d finish reading his at his apartment. Our youngest read his and immediately called for a family group hug. Our daughter says next year she and her brothers have to write notes to the parents. They seemed sincerely touched.

After the hustle and bustle of presents and as my daughter is upstairs getting ready to go out with friends, she yells down that wasn’t it amazing that her favorite present wasn’t even a present.

Awww. Geewillikers, where’s the Kleenex?

Thank you Pastor Keith for your suggestion and thanks to my husband for having us follow through on Pastor’s idea.

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

Leave a Reply

