Here With Us

El-ElyonThis Saturday completes the first full week of January, 2015. I’m not sure if any of you feel like I do, but what happened to Christmas? It seems like the whole season came and went in a blur. So you can imagine how thankful I was when my favorite Pandora station played the song I’ve copied below, “Here With Us,” by Joy Williams.

This past week especially, I have felt a great need to continue to ponder my Savior’s birth, and all that it means. You see,

It’s still a mystery to me
That the hands of God could be so small
How tiny fingers reaching in the night
Were the very hands that measured the sky

… and …

It’s still a mystery to me
How His infant eyes have seen the dawn of time
How His ears have heard an angel’s symphony
But still Mary had to rock her Savior to sleep

When I think of God, there are times when I’m pretty sure I “get it.” But then I realize: I have not got a clue. My miniscule human brain just cannot understand, cannot fathom, El Elyon, the Most High God. (See Genesis 14:18-20)

This first week of the new year, a friend and I went to a church where we received some time of individual, encouraging prayer. This type of prayer is amazing, and underscores the fact that I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND EL ELYON. He is far beyond my comprehension. These faithful prayer warriors blessed me through their prayers. They knew nothing about me, but yet shared words they had heard from the Most High God. God then used those words to penetrate my heart, reminding me once again of His great love for me.

So this week, this first full week of 2015, I’m here to remind you that El Elyon, the Most High God, cares deeply for you, and knows everything you have been, are, and will be, going through. No, we won’t ever fully understand His ways this side of heaven, but we can be absolutely certain that He knows us intimately and loves us so completely that He sent His only Son to reach down and save the world. He saved the world–including you, including me. He’s here with us. Hallelujah!

Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
Son of God, servant King
Here with us, You’re here with us
You’re here with us

God bless you and keep you as you receive the fact that the Son of God, servant King is here with you.

Jeanne

One thought on “Here With Us

Leave a Reply

