Sorry!

Last week I had a rather awful week. I missed an important appointment. I received an e-mail regarding a project I had worked on, in which those I worked with were very unsatisfied with the outcome. I offered to bring a friend dinner for her family (as they had recently added their third child to the family)—and I completely forgot until the following day.

I berated myself. I sulked. I made appropriate calls, emails text messages of apology. I prayed.

There’s nothing I can do to change what’s in the past. Instead the focus should be on what I can do to make each situation right.

  • Thing # 1: Reaching out in humility to each person in order to restore relationship- I’m sorry.
  • Thing #2: Admit my offense- without offering excuses.
  • Thing #3: Offering restitution for my mistake.
  • Thing #4: Letting myself learn and let go.

Thing # 4 may be the hardest for me. Learning is ok, although sometimes it is hard to process or re-hash a mistake in order to get the most out of it; but most difficult of all is quieting the small voice in my head that tells me perfection is the expectation. That failure is not an option. That I am worth less now that I have erred.

You know, perhaps I am worth less in the eyes of those whom I have offended. I could understand that. I cannot change that, if it is the case. But I can refocus on where my WORTH does come from. It comes from a Creator who loves me and knows me.

But now, God’s Message,

   the God who made you in the first place, Jacob,

   the One who got you started, Israel:

“Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you.

   I’ve called your name. You’re mine.

When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you.

   When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down.

When you’re between a rock and a hard place,

   it won’t be a dead end—

Because I am God, your personal God,

   The Holy of Israel, your Savior.

I paid a huge price for you:

   all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in!

That’s how much you mean to me!

   That’s how much I love you!

I’d sell off the whole world to get you back,

   trade the creation just for you. (Isaiah 43:1-4 Message)

Praise God for His love and His redeeming work (for me and you personally in our everyday lives). Thank and Praise Him that we are loved no matter how often we fail. He loves us by the Blood of his Son. He paid for my (our) sins on the cross. How blessed for me to know that no matter what (reconciliation and restitution or not) God values me just the same. And come the Last Day, all will be made new. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” (Revelation 21: 3-5)

Maybe I won’t get to ‘right’ what I wronged here on earth, but I can trust that God will make everything new in His time.

Thank you, Jesus, for bearing the cross, the sins of the world, my unacceptable, miserable failings so that we can be together in eternity. Forgiveness is far more than I deserve; I choose to be thankful for this amazing gift.

Humbly,

Stacey

One thought on “Sorry!

  1. Thank you, thank you! I need this reminder. But let me share that the older I get the easier this is. Could it be that I have made many, many mistakes?

Leave a Reply

