It’s Here

This blog post I had written and meant to publish a couple of weeks ago, but for some reason, it did not publish when I had scheduled it to publish. Although Christmas is technically over, I still think that this message is fitting, as we have a gift to share with those around us all year long. Enjoy!

I absolutely love Christmas. It is my favorite day of the entire year. I can’t seem to put into words exactly what it is about this day, other than stating how this day brings me overwhelming joy, that seems impossible to express.

I can remember being a little girl, and waking up multiple times in the middle of the night, wondering what the tree would look like and what presents would be waiting for me under the tree. My parents never put any out before Christmas, so we would see them all under the tree waiting for us on Christmas morning when we awoke. The anticipation that I felt would make it hard to sleep. In fact, I still have a hard time sleeping on Christmas Eve.  This year I tossed and turned most of the night, thinking about how excited my own children would be to wake up and find the presents under the tree.

Morning came, and surprisingly I was awake before my children were! They were still sleeping at 8:00am, which must be a record for most children to sleep so late on such an exciting day. Noah was up first, and wandered downstairs. Once he saw the tree he began to shout in excitement for us to come down to see the tree. He was excited to see the presents and open them, so he could play with them.

As each of my children opened their presents, they would either myself or my husband to immediately open the toy, or read the book, or put on the outfit newly unwrapped. As a parent, it brought me great joy to see their excited excitement over the gifts received. And it brought me even greater joy to watch them play with their new gifts, and share their gifts with one another. (Which if your children are like mine, does not happen very often!)

We as Christians have such a wonderful and exciting gift to share with those around us. This time of year serves as a reminder of the anticipation those who were waiting for Christ’s birth felt. For thousands of years the world waited in anticipation for the birth of the messiah, the hope and redemption for all mankind. And he arrived as a baby, born in a manger. I cannot fathom the excitement that heaven and earth must have felt on that day.

God calls us to share this excitement with those around us. This gift of the baby born in a manger was not meant to be kept a secret, but to be experienced and enjoyed by all. So as our Christmas season starts to come to a close, remember the excitement that gift of a Savior brings, our Savior, and share the excitement with those around you.

Stacy

Leave a Reply

