Lord, to give up I’d be a fool

fools

You are my strength when I am weak
You are the treasure that I seek
You are my all in all
Seeking You as a precious jewel
Lord, to give up I’d be a fool
You are my all in all
Taking my sin, my cross, my shame
Rising up again, I bless Your name
You are my all in all

While sitting in church and once again forgetting my glasses, I hear the Praise Band singing “You are My All in All”. When I forget my glasses, I don’t sing that much for the obvious fact I can’t read the words on the screen. Sometimes the screen background color and the colors of the words to the song blend too closely together. Thus, my ears are forced to listen. I remember hearing the line “Lord to give up I’d be a fool” for the first time. For a second I actually thought about political incorrectness. I mean someone indirectly calling me a fool. Should my feelings be hurt? Is my self-esteem damaged? What about my delicate psyche?

Nope. Feelings aren’t hurt. Self-esteem isn’t damaged. Psyche is OK. Because that line lays it on the line. It’s a “duh” statement. You’ve got all you need in God; why would you give up?

But as an imperfect human, I do give up at times. Life can be vicious, mean and just plain hurt. The curve-balls, the sliders and the knuckle-balls overwhelm me; it’s then I look at the lines, “He’s my treasure; He’s my strength; He’s my all in all.”

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

Leave a Reply

