You want me to do WHAT?

Jan2-2015The theme for my life these past two weeks seems to be something along the lines of “God is in control.” Otherwise known as “What do you mean, you don’t want to _______________?  Or, “Hey, have I got a surprise for you!” You’re familiar with this theme?

The thing is, it’s all good. Since the beginning of January, I’ve been working on a website redesign for work. I begged and pleaded with the “powers to be” in the office not to be the person responsible for this work. “I don’t know how to…” “I don’t have time…” “I can’t figure it out.” Or, like Moses said, “O Lord, please send someone else.” The “powers to be” said, “You can do it. Just get started.” After more whining and griping, I finally got to work.  God helped by giving me favor, wisdom, knowledge and time. In addition, I re-learned a valuable lesson: it’s during times of challenges when we most grow, as we learn to count on God and trust in His provision.

Last week, I received a call from my daughter telling me that her husband had been laid off from his job. It came out of the blue, totally unexpected. With the type of work that my son-in-law does, it was pretty certain that the family would need to be moving. Chances were almost non-existent that a job suitable for him would be available in their city. Last week there were lots of unknowns and worries. This week, 6 days from the day he was laid off, he began working in an office just down the street, doing what he is gifted to do. He “just happened” to stop by a friend’s office during his daughter’s swimming lesson. The friend exclaimed, “I can’t believe it’s you! I was going to phone you yesterday to see what you were doing!” Wow! Believing that God knows best, the entire family (me included), trusted that He would work everything out, whatever that meant. No one expected such a quick ending to the job hunt, but you can bet that all are thankful!

This week? A repeat of that question in a different situation, “What do you mean, you don’t want to__________? You’d think that I would get the message, and understand that things can change in the blink of an eye, or at least realize that they are most definitely not going to go according to my plans. But, little by little, as I take the time to look back and ponder His faithfulness over the years, I remember that God has got me covered. I am so blessed.

Just before I wrote this blog, I came across this quote: (thanks Tatijana!)

“God closes off all the escape routes and then puts His hand on us in our inescapable situations. That’s a good thing.”  Chuck Swindoll

This is what I’m talking about. Want to feel God’s hand on you? He hears that request. Want to grow in your faith? Just keep in mind, things might not play out as you expected. Never fear, though. God is in control.

Thanks for listening! Until next time,

Jeanne

 

One thought on “You want me to do WHAT?

Leave a Reply

