Love is….

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how my daughter and a boy that she likes were contemplating the world of dating. A week ago, this young man asked my daughter to be his girlfriend. As a mom (and dad) we are hopeful that their love remains pure and we also hope that they remember the words I wrote below in July of 2013.

If you haven’t had the opportunity to read the blog, enjoy.

Carey

 

Last week on Facebook, I put out a poll to see what people would like to read about in our blog. One of the first things was about what love is and what it feels like.  I am not an expert but will try to tackle this topic.

As a child, my view of love was a little distorted. I was loved by my family but had some underlying issues with the word love. You see, as a child my life was forever changed because of what I thought love was. I wasn’t given the choice to be loved in the way God intended me to be loved. Without giving away too many details, my innocence was taken from me by an adult I trusted.

Growing up, I thought that love was when men wanted to be with you physically, not with feelings but with touch. As I got older, I sought to find what love really was. The word love has been used in movies, songs and even in comic strip. After many years of struggling with this topic I believe that I actually found what love truly is.

Love is:                                                                              love is2

  • Free. It can’t be bought or sold
  • It can’t be turned into a reward or a consequence    
  • Compassionate and caring
  • Unconditional, accepting faults and imperfections
  • It can’t be manipulated
  • Patient and kind
  • Honesty
  • Closeness
  • Natural
  • Real
  • God

Love isn’t:

  • Given when you succeed
  • Forced
  • Dependent
  • Jealous
  • Violent or painful
  • Physical or an attraction to another
  • What you see in the movies
  • Lust
  • Sex 

There are so many more definitions of love. Looking at the list, I can see where I was before I began my committed relationship to God. He has never left me because of what I can and can’t do. He isn’t jealous; He doesn’t care what we look like and is always honest and caring.

One type of love I have learned about is called agape. This type of love is defined as “selfless love of one person for another without sexual implications.” This is God’s love. God loves us so much that he sent His son to us only be tortured and crucified on a cross. This is the ultimate type of love; it’s not selfish or conditional.

I knew that my husband loved me the day we married. He has reaffirmed his love to me during our 15 years of marriage. I finally found out what true love was thanks to my Heavenly Father. He showed me what a relationship with a male was supposed to be like. We have had our ups and downs but God held our hands together during those struggles. They are the men I need in my life.

If you haven’t ever experience what true love is, I ask that you pray first. Accept Christ into your life and be filled in your relationship with Him.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7, 13

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

Loving you unconditionally,

Carey Oswald

4 thoughts on “Love is….

  1. I absolutely love the way this ended! it sounds like you and your husband are doing a fabulous job symbolizing Jesus’ Love for us! Marriage about the bond that Christ has with the church and His unconditional love! How can we learn unconditional love if we are married to somebody who meets all of our conditions?! Ya’ll are great!

Leave a Reply

