I forget that my prayers matter to God.

The Roman paganism of Jesus’ day taught that the actions of gods in the heavens above affected the earth below.  If Zeus got angry, thunderbolts shot out.  “As above, so below,” went the ancient formula.

Jesus, though, sometimes inverted that.  He taught:  As below, so above.  A believer prays, and heaven responds.  A sinner repents, and the angels rejoice.  A mission succeeds, and God is glorified.  A believer rebels, and the Holy Spirit is grieved.

I believe these things, yet somehow I keep forgetting them.  I forget that my prayers matter to God.  I forget that the choices I make today bring delight or grief to the Lord of the universe.

The above three paragraphs are from a Philip Yancey’s devotion discussed by my work Bible study group.

I mentioned to the group that the underlined sentence was hitting me in the head.  (Think V-8 commercial).    Why?

  • I often feel that I’m unworthy of God’s attention. I know there are others hurting more than me.  God should make them a priority.
  • It’s difficult to trust God cares about me. Am I really all that special?  Do I really deserve God’s love?  I don’t understand these feelings because I truly believe that I am made in God’s image.

A group member turned to me and said, “Jeanie, God cares about the sparrows.  Why wouldn’t he care about you?”

Matthew 6:26  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

BELIEVE in yourself.

BELIEVE that you matter to God.

BELIEVE that your prayers matter to God.

BELIEVE what the plaque on our fireplace reads,

Child, Absolutely NOTHING can destroyyoumatter MY LOVE for you.   Love, God

…..Inspired by Romans 8:38-39

In His grip,

Jeanie Shank

2 thoughts on “I forget that my prayers matter to God.

Leave a Reply

