What are you waiting for?

Lord, we show our trust in you by obeying your laws;

our heart’s desire is to glorify your name.

In the night I search for you;

in the morning I earnestly seek you. Isaiah 69: NLT

 

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;

in the morning I lay my requests before you

and wait expectantly. Psalm 5:3 NIV

 

God, treat us kindly. You’re our only hope.

First thing in the morning, be there for us!

When things go bad, help us out!  Isaiah 33:2 Message

 

In the morning let me hear about your faithful love,

because I’ve put my trust in you.

Show me the way I should live,

    because I trust you with my life. Psalm 143:8 NIRV

 

Dear Friends,

What are you waiting for? I don’t know about you, but I have a bunch of excuses for not getting into the Word daily: My kids woke up in the middle of the night, and I just need a few more minutes of sleep. My time got interrupted, and I never got back to it. I have so many things on the to-do list. The piles of dirty dishes and laundry are staring at me. I just don’t even know where to start. do it

That list could go on and on. Friends, the devil loves to add to that list. There is nothing he would like more than to get God crossed off your list. However, I was encouraged by a study my small group is doing to get into the Word on a daily basis. (Now I have heard this over and over in the course of my Christian life; sometimes I get into a decent groove and sometimes I let the mountain of excuses become too huge an obstacle to tackle). This time (by the power of God’s Spirit), I heard it not as something I have to do, not as something I have to feel guilty about when I don’t do. Rather, I heard it as the sweet invitation of a dear friend – to go out to coffee (or whatever gets you going in the morning- tea in my case).  There is no guilt or condemnation, simply a sweet invitation of my loving Savior who wants to know my heart and wants me to know his.

On this note, I’m not setting myself up for failure by expecting to get up each and every morning and get into God’s word. I’m just looking forward to meeting with Jesus one or two mornings a week to begin with. And if my time is kid-terrupted, I will invite which ever little shows up to join me in praising God.

Sisters (and Brothers) in Christ, you are invited to meet with the Savior each and every day. He loves you if you do—He loves you if you don’t. How wonderful that our omnipotent, omniscient, all-loving God invites you to be with Him daily.

Enjoy this meeting time, this moment of worship (whether it’s morning, noon, night or anything in between). What are you waiting for—be with the Lord just a little more today.

With Love,

Stacey

 

PS—check out the link below for a little more worship time (what are you waiting for – it’s only 2.5 min)

In the morning, when I rise,

In the morning when I rise,

In the morning when I rise,

Give me Jesus!

 

Leave a Reply

