Simply … Yes

I am 40 years old.  I have reached that point in my life when I am physically noticing my age.  Gravity is not a friend to some body parts.  The gray hairs are beginning to be a consistent friend and not a random visitor.  I feel like my brain is “buffering…buffering” when I try to remember some things.  It’s also when I am looking at what I have done in my life, where I am at, and where I may be going or what I have left to do, and I am trying to figure out if I am on the right path … God’s path for me.  I look for those little signs and reminders that I am walking where he wants me to be.

There are some mornings that I wake up and really struggle with those thoughts.  I dwell on regretted decisions or times that I wielded my sharp tongue.  I worry about whether I am raising my children properly with the right values or preparing them for this every-changing world.  I wonder if I show my husband enough love, enough respect, enough kindness.  It is at these times, when I doubt all the little decisions and choices, these times are when the devil sneaks in.  And these are the times that I need the reminder that I am on God’s path just by being here.  I find that in 3 John 1:4 which tells us “I have no greater joy than to hear to hear that my children are walking in the truth.”

Every morning when I wake up, God is saying yes to me.  Yes, today is another day I am giving you.  Yes, you have made mistakes, but I do not see them through the blood of my Son.   Yes, I know you doubt yourself, but I have faith in you.  Yes, you are my child.  Yes, you are walking in my truth because you are simply trying.  Simply … yes.  And in that affirmation, I am renewed.

Walking in the truth,

Dina Newsom

One thought on “Simply … Yes

Leave a Reply

