Distractions

This blog is a re-post of a blog that I wrote last summer…which seems fitting for me to repost, as I just returned from vacation and feel as though distractions are pulling me in every direction at this moment.  This funny story reminds me how I need to keep my focus on Jesus…instead of wandering!  Enjoy!

Distractions!  They fly at us every single day, pulling our attention and focus away from what we are thinking about, or doing.  Many times those distractions pull us away in a different.   direction then we may have been heading, or cause you to question your decision or judgement, or may even cause you to make a mistake. One such distraction happened to me this weekend.

I got home from work early Saturday afternoon, and for whatever reason thought that taking hubby and our two kids to the grocery store was a good idea.  We can spend time together and they can help me pick out what to make for supper this week.  Boy was I wrong.  (usually trips to the store end in either one or both of my children screaming during some point of the trip, my 6 year old trying to be helpful by adding extras into the cart that weren’t on my list, and wanting to push those small green carts that HyVee has that my son insists is a bumper car and smashes it into every end cap he can think, usually knocking over a display of paper towels!)

Hubby and I split up.  He ran to grab a few items for a supper he was planning for Sunday, and I was off to grab contact solution.  My 6 year old (the one slamming his cart into anything he could find) decided he just had to follow me.  So it wasn’t surprising to me that when I stopped to look at all of the options of contact solution, he decided there was something else he wanted to look at.  In a hurry to catch him, I just grabbed a bottle off of the shelf and tossed it into the cart.

For those of you who don’t wear contacts, let me give you a tip if you ever have to buy contact solution for someone who wears contacts, you want to buy SALINE contact solution, not HYDROGEN PEROXIDE contact solution.

Still distracted I hadn’t noticed that I didn’t buy the right kind of contact solution.  I poured the solution into my contact case, popped out my contacts, and went to bed.

The next morning when I went to put in my right contact, did I realize that I had grabbed the wrong bottle.  I stuck the contact into my eye and it instantly began to burn.  Imagine me with crazy bed head, slamming my fist into the bathroom wall and screaming for my husband to cut my eye out because it felt like it was on fire.  My poor daughter began to cry because all of my screaming, and my husband is yelling at me trying to get my attention and asking what he needs to do, and all I can say is over and over is, get it out, get it out!

So, for those of you who saw me on Sunday at church and noticed my eye was very red, that was why! In all of the chaos that ensued, I lost that contact, which happened to be my last pair!  I am now stuck wearing my glasses until I can get an eye appointment to renew my prescription.

Sometimes we have moments like that in our faith.  We are headed down a path, and something distracts us, causing us to loose sight and focus on what is important and where we are headed.  I don’t know about you, but to me it happens daily!  A moment of frustration at work and I let my emotions get the best of me and I say something that I didn’t mean to and hurt those I work with.  Or with my kids or husband when they aren’t listening to me, my frustration and anger are let out in the words that I say and the way that I treat them.  Or I judge those around me and make assumptions about situations instead of confronting the person and helping them out.

Good news is, that’s why Jesus came for us!  He came to show us the path, and gave us something to focus on, so we can eliminate some of those distractions.  One of my favorite verses comes from Hebrews 12:2 and it says, “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

God wrote the story, and he knows how it is going to end, distractions and all.  That’s why he sent Jesus, to perfect our faith by being the perfect sacrifice for us.

So on days like I had on Sunday, when you feel like you’re going to loose it, fix your eyes upon Jesus, and he will straighten your path and allow you to focus and eliminate those distractions!

Stacy 🙂

One thought on “Distractions

  1. Thank you for reminding me of how we get so distracted from what God has done for us. How easy we let other things get in the way. What a wonderful life he has given us.

Leave a Reply

