Perspective

Refraction_through_glasses_090306My son has worn glasses since he was four years old. I remember being surprised when we were told that we needed to take him to a pediatric ophthalmologist, where we found he had a severe astigmatism that required corrective glasses.

When he put his glasses on for the first time, he stepped outside, looked at a tree and exclaimed, “Wow, that’s what leaves look like! Cool!”

Now that’s perspective.

In the last few weeks, I feel that I need my own pair of corrective glasses to provide me with an accurate spiritual and Godly perspective of what is happening in life. It is very easy for me to look at a situation and see the negative….the risk….the downside…the hassle. Instead, I need to use wisdom to see the bigger view of how the details of life fit into God’s bigger plan.

Maybe you’ve experienced things like these examples:

My view: Things in life feel magnified and painful; small work experiences seem like the end of the world.

God perspective: Later that day, a co-worker finds out that her mother has terminal cancer. My work things are trivial compared to the eternal.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” – Isaiah 55: 8-9


My view: My husband brings a dog home as a surprise. All I can think about is the work, hassle and all the cleaning that will consume my life.

God perspective: Now my family will have more time to spend outside together with this new addition to our family, and will benefit from greater fitness and togetherness opportunities.

How can we thank God enough for you in return for all the joy we have in the presence of our God because of you? – 1 Thessalonians 3:9 (NIV)


My view: Socks are left strewn all over the living room floor (and even a pair on the kitchen table). Again. Really?

God perspective: We have all the clothes we need to be warm and comfortable, and are blessed beyond belief.

Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, “The Lord has done great things for them.” The Lord has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy. – Psalm 126:2-3 (NIV)


My view: Money seems tight; I’m not sure how we pay all the bills and have no idea how to save for college.

God perspective: I have an opportunity to learn to manage the financial blessings God has given me in a way that employs wise stewardship.

Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth. After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it – 1 Timothy 6:6-7 NLT


 

In this Easter season, we have the ultimate reminder of perspective:

Jesus was facing extreme pain as he poured out his soul to his Father. He prayed to the point of sweating drops of blood before he was arrested, stricken, betrayed, beaten and crucified. He endured humiliation and scorn before he gave up his blameless life, surrounded by criminals.

Three days later, he rose from the grave, bringing us eternal hope and eternal life.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. – Hebrews 12:1-3.

Won’t you join me in putting on your spiritual glasses to see with God’s perspective this week?

Seeing with new eyes,

– Jen Clark

2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. Doneta, it’s so true! I’m the worst. Maybe I need to borrow my son’s glasses occasionally as a reminder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

