comfort zone

comfortzone1

Comfort zone:  a type of mental conditioning that causes a person to create and operate mental boundaries. Such boundaries create an unfounded sense of security. Like inertia, a person who has established a comfort zone in a particular axis of his or her life, will tend to stay within that zone without stepping outside of it. To step outside their comfort zone, a person must experiment with new and different behaviors, and then experience the new and different responses that occur within their environment..taken from Wikepedia

versus ……………….stepping outside your comfort zone

…I am getting up on Tuesday mornings to attend a 7:15 Bible study with students at my workplace.  It’s not a leap of faith for me to attend a Bible study.  I’ve been in several; I’m in a Life Group through church.  But getting out of that bed when the covers feel so-o-o cozy requires motivation.  Actually, I am impressed that I get up so early as I am not a morning person and I don’t begin the work day until 9:30 a.m.   God works in mysterious ways.

…I am mentoring a young lady through Coach Osborne and his wife Nancy’s TeamMates program.  So when I get done with Bible study, I scoot across the hall and go “be there” for her.   She likes watching “The Voice” so we have that in common.  She tells lots of stories about the fast food restaurant where she works.  We have debates about who is more eager for May to get here.  It’s a toss up.

…I am now a greeter on Sunday mornings.  I welcome church goers into the building.  Come see me at the 9:30 service.   I can do the Miss America wave as well as anyone………no wait, that’s a different kind of greeting.  I can smile and shake hands as well as anyone.  Just remember a firm grip.

leapoffaithFEET

So, I’m stepping out of my comfort zone.  None of these leaps are earth shaking, but who knows what future opportunities to serve my Lord might be opened to me.

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

One thought on “comfort zone

Leave a Reply

