Down to the wire

I am a procrastinator.  I have always been this way.  For me, there seems to be a thrill in getting things completed just in the nick of time.  This blog post happens to be a perfect example for me…I try to sit down days ahead of time to get this written and scheduled to post, but I always seem to be working on finishing it just a few hours before it’s time for it to be published.  OR…my morning routine. Doesn’t matter how early I set my alarm for, I will hit snooze 5 or 6 times and I have it figured out what is the latest time I need to wake up in the morning and still have enough time to get myself and kids ready before heading out the door.

When I was in college, I would wait until just a few days before a major project or assignment was due, before I would really start to work on it.  I would make a list earlier in the semester of everything that needed to get done and would try to start things early, but for some reason, I would find other things that would take priority and I would wait until the last possible second, to start working on my project or assignment.  (I am hoping this will change this time around, when I start classes for my master’s degree later this month!)

I attended the Life|story service on Sunday, and all I have to say is WOW!  Scotte did a great job preaching in 30 minutes, on the book of Revelation.  For those of you that didn’t attend that particular service, I want to share with you a theme that I noticed, and something that has stuck in my mind since church on Sunday.  Scotte shared with us that one of the messages that is shared in the book of Revelation, is that Jesus will return to this earth very soon.  As Scotte was speaking about the end of time and the return of Jesus coming soon, he said something that struck a chord with me and I can’t stop thinking about.  Everyday that Jesus doesn’t return, is just another chance for us to prepare and be ready and tell others about the hope that we have, so they too can be prepared for when Jesus returns.

That thought really has me feeling uneasy, and quite honestly, also slightly convicted.

Maybe you can relate?

Lately, I feel that in my own personal relationship and walk with the Lord, I’ve started to become lazy, apathetic, and not quite as motivated about sharing my faith or diving into the word, as I have been in the past.  I’m not sure why.  I’m sure some of it is due to all the demands of my life and not prioritizing the relationship.  I’m sure some of it too, also just has to do with my sinful nature, and my attitude of, I’ll get to it when time is pressing in, and it’s of importance.  And after Scotte’s message this weekend, and thinking about the theme of the book of Revelation overall, I am realizing that I don’t know how much time I have left, and I need to make this more of a priority now, while I still have the time.

For me, I am going to take the following steps to be prepared for Christ’s return

1.  Be in scripture and prayer daily.  It’s so important for us to know what God’s word has to share with us, and for us to be in DAILY communication with God.  I’m sure  you’ve ready Carey’s blog post from last week…but devotion and prayer is what helps keep us filled and gives us the strength to carry on, when we don’t feel as though we have anything left to carry on.  It also helps open our eyes to what God wants to teach us, and allows him to mold and shape us into the vessels of service that He desires for us to be, and for use in His greater purpose.

2.  Attend worship weekly and invite others to attend with me.  This is one that I’ve struggled with lately.  I make it to worship fairly regularly with my husband and kids, but it’s not the priority it was before my children came along.  Which, to me, I feel as though it should be MORE of a priority at this point, as I am the example for my children.  And I should also invite others to attend church with me. (which I also, am not the greatest at.  There’s fear in rejection…but again…God’s kingdom grows when others take the chance and invite them to attend worship with them!)

3.  Serve the community I live in.  I work for an agency that helps individuals of many different backgrounds, and I have learned in the short time I’ve worked in child welfare here in Omaha, that the need for services is very great in our community, and I have the opportunity to help those in need in our community.  Serving in those areas of greatest need, also opens up the doors to allow me to share my faith with those I am serving.

For me, I am taking comfort in knowing that no matter when Christ returns, that I will be ready, as I will have an explanation for the hope that I have…but I want to deepen my relationship while I am waiting, and want as many to join me as possible!

So my friends, I am challenging you today.  What are you doing to prepare for Christ’s second coming?  What areas or things do you need to re-focus or re-align and get back into order to be better prepared?  I encourage you to share your thoughts in the comments section below!

Stacy 🙂

Leave a Reply

