An Attitude of Gratitude

It’s a reality check for me – I love how my Lord reminds me through devotions (not one but two of them) of my propensity to worry about issues, when I just don’t have control at all. Why do I/we do that? My fellow blogger Jeanie wrote last Wednesday about stepping out of our comfort zones and just doing something differently. In her words, “None of these leaps are earth shaking, but who knows what future opportunities to serve my Lord might be opened to me.”

I thought of how I respond in situations and I confess worry can be an issue for me. While I cannot change what has happened, I am reminded that I can change how I choose to respond. My favorite author Charles Swindoll commented, “I believe the single most significant decision I can make on a day-to-day basis is my choice of attitude. It is more important than my past, my education, my bankroll, my successes or failures, fame or pain, what other people think of me or say about me, my circumstances, or my position. Attitude…keeps me going or cripples my progress.” Wow powerful words; and if that wasn’t strong enough my second devotion continued with a scriptural reminder, “Be constantly renewed in the spirit of your mind [having a fresh mental and spiritual attitude]” Ephesians 4:23 It continued to remind me that my attitude can substantially affect my happiness level.

Case in point – last Wednesday I was overwhelmed by the beautiful scene in my own back yard. I stepped out and viewed the green landscape of a spring evening. Six years ago I would not have thought this moment possible – too much pain, anger and regret. Thank you Lord for this moment I whispered. I looked at my deck, the cedar rockers and tables, all reminders of my husband’s skill. John is still with me even though gone these past 6 summers. Greater still it struck me profoundly, “Lord you are with me still in this green beauty and the fading shadows. I smell you in the freshly cut grass, and hear you in the song of the Robins – a melody of your gift and presence.”

How blessed I am!  I am alone, but not alone. I choose to see the creation and my life as God sees – a gift of His love. The key to a great attitude is to rise above the old way of thinking and well, think like God thinks. I know His word reminds me that I am incapable of thinking His actual thoughts – they are far too high, too noble and holy, but I can raise my mind and sight to focus on the good, the right, the holy, encouraging others. These are ways to express my thankfulness (stepping out of my comfort zone if you will – thank you Jeanie).

“Put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” Ephesians 4:22-24.

Rebecca Currington adds: “An attitude is simply a response to what you see – keep your mind turned to the good.”

Lord, help me craft that attitude of gratitude. Amen

Blessings, Doneta

Gratitude2

Leave a Reply

