Fruit of the Spirit

fruitof the spirit

In Priscilla Shirer’s Jonah Navigating a Life Interrupted she speaks about patience

…”it’s one of the aspects of the fruit of God’s Spirit I need to take a few more bites of.”

Research notes  that “The Fruit of the Holy Spirit is a biblical term that sums up the nine visible attributes of a Jesus Christ Christian life written of by Paul in his Letter to the Galatians.”

These are the fruits of the spirit as noted in Galatians 5:22-23.

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

Let’s sit down at the table with the Holy Spirit.  Beverages are available:  cheeses and crackers are arranged on a sterling silver platter.  In a beautiful crystal bowl is an assortment of fruit.  What do I choose?  Which fruit of the spirit is speaking to me?

fruit

Is it kindness?  I ­­­­­­­­­work with several Chatty Cathys.  I need not respond to each and every word out of their mouths.  I can detach from them with kindness.  Let’s take three bites.

Maybe it’s peace I need to bite into.  This world is so broken.  Tensions abound on a national, federal, state and local level.  There’s the eggshells within one’s own home.  Step back.  “Be still and know that I am God.”  Let go and let God.    Open mouth, insert four bites.

Forbearance (aka patience) offers me serenity.  Breathe in.  Count to 10.  I’ll take a giant bite.  No, I’m shoving it all in.

Should I chomp into some self-control?  Stop some overreacting.  Be confident in my thought processes.  Think before I speak.  Let’s shove in three bites.

You need a bite or two of fruit?

In His Grip,

Jeanie Shank

4 thoughts on “Fruit of the Spirit

Leave a Reply

